Day 18

Up the coldest morning yet. I decided to try shit on the shingles and biscuits worst case, we have biscuits with jelly. But if it works filling and warm on a cold morning.

Chance: Dad, it is cold, cold my feet are freezing

Me: putting on some clothes might help

Chance: duh, or just stay with me on this, dad. You could turn up the heater. Just saying.

Me: going to be one of those days. I see

Chance: well, you could

Me: just get dressed and eat. You will warm up.

Chance: Dad, can I go to Casey’s house after school

Knew it was coming, him wanting to go to friends’ houses. I don’t have a problem with it other than not knowing where his mom is. If I tell him what’s going on, he will take it as I’m too trying to keep her away. If not, he will think I don’t trust him. But I can’t let her destroy his life more than she has.

Me: how about tomorrow instead? She can come here.

Chance: Dad, no, she asks me her mom is off work today

Me: let me talk to her mom

I called her, explained what was happening, and didn’t want to drag them into it. She said you don’t worry about letting him come. If she shows up, I can assure you that she won’t take him or talk to him. I explained what I knew about what was happening in the last few days. She said that’s fine. I can deal with any problems till someone gets here.

Chance: Dad, the Bus is coming. Can I go, please can I?

Me: that’s fine. I’ll pick you up at about 7. You better be good and have no smart mouth

Chance: Dad, I know how to act. Have to go love me (and ran out the door)

I spent the day worrying if I did do the right thing. Learning fast, one of the biggest things about being a single dad is, you second guess 99% of your decisions.

I went to pick up the brat boy and pulled into the yard 15 minutes early (the brat boy was mad). My heart went to my throat. There are two Highway patrol cars in the driveway. I ran out of the truck, and a state trooper walked out of the house. It was Casey’s dad. I had no idea he was a trooper, and so is her mom. Every time I had been there. The cars had been in the garage. I never asked what they did. Casey’s dad knew I was upset, so I explained my train of thought to him. He apologized and said we assumed you knew what we did. (As he was laughing) It explained her mom saying don’t worry,  I can handle any problems till you get her. On the way home

Me: did you know they were troopers

Chance: yes, so what are you scared of them? Cause you always speed

Me: Did you eat

Chance: yep, and it was good, not like yours (he was laughing)

Me: keep it up. Wait till we get home

Chance: not if I’m  faster old man

Me: Not if I get a hold of that sock foot first

Chance: not that scared. I’ll help you feed if you want

Me: I guess

He got in the house, and he had so much homework. As he finished something, I would check it. Not sure I’m happy with some of what they are teaching him. It took till bath time to finish. We did his mop. I don’t get long hair for anybody. It’s so much work, but he is good about taking care of his hair. He grabbed a blanket, came over, laid his head on me, and was out in ten minutes. I was surprised he always gets her throw and, in her chair and falls asleep.

They picked up the desktop today to go through it. Told Chance it went to the shop. They said they would have it back in about ten days.

Log in to write a note