Day 17 started good ended no sure

Mowed the yard and was finishing up as Chance got off the bus

Chance: I was going to do that

Me: Do what

Chance: mow the yard

Me: since when

Chance: I can drive the zero turn as good as you

Me: your mad cause I didn’t make you do chores I can fix that

Chance: Dad, don’t twist what I said. Never mind

Me: starting next year, it’s your job. Remember why

Chance: Dork and took off running to the house

We decided to grill tonight, well

Chance: Dad, can Mike (microwave) not cook  you can try to grill, and I will try to eat it

Me: if Butthead doesn’t overload, I’ll try not to ground him

Chance:  I’ll go pick something

Me: ok, but that mouth is better for eating, not talking smack at dinner

Chance: good. I got something out this morning

Me: really good thing I said yes Next time, check with me, ok

Chance: this is how mom lets me do it sometimes

Me: I’m not mad. Just let me know.

Turns out we had baked potatoes and steak it turned out ok. Seasoning needs work. But he ate all of it. I didn’t even hear mom does better.

On the way to bottle feed the calves, we have three the moms didn’t take to.

Chance: Dad, you mad at me?

Me: what did you do

Chance: no, because you have to take care of me all the time till mom gets back.

Me:  I wouldn’t trade taking care of you for anything cause you are perfect, from that smart mouth to that sock foot. Don’t you ever think different

We fed the calves and headed back to the house

Chance: guess I’m kinda like those calves for now

Me: (Wasn’t sure what to say) what I have to feed you both.

Chance: yep, Butthead (as he took off running)

I let him win. Got back and helped him with homework. Social Studies

He took a bath, and we did his hair

Me: starting tonight, you need to lay your clothes out for in the morning, which means a shirt, shorts or jeans, socks, shoe backpack means everything is already in your backpack.

Chance: Ok, we can try

Me: ok, we can ground

Chance: not funny

He got his mom’s throw and wrapped up in it in your chair and We watched YouTube videos. Till he fell asleep. The phone rang. It was from the sheriff’s office. They said the local store clerk was talking to a Deputy and said she had seen Chance’s mom this morning around 1 am getting gas.  They checked the surveillance camera but could not be sure. They act like I don’t know who the clerk is. We have one store open all night. I don’t know if she did, but guess I treat it like she did to be safe. I wish I knew where she was. There are days I wish she were in jail, then other days I hope she stays disappeared forever. I can file for divorce, and she has 30 days to answer. If not, I get it, but since she would be served by publication, she has up to two years to ask for a new trial. So not sure there is any point yet if they find her and get her on the warrants, I get her served while in jail. I keep getting warned she could regret leaving him and grab him and run. I almost feel like they know something because they keep telling me to keep him close. And no matter how little I think, something seems to call them. Then gave examples like cars around you have never seen, don’t chase noises stay with the boy and call us, anything out of place, and on and on. Just something about the way they were acting. The more I thought about it, the more it bothered me. So, I called the Sheriff at home, a good part of small-town living. And point blank asks him what is going on. He said, look. We don’t know if she is around. But in two of the neighboring counties, there have been issues that are under investigation, so that’s all I can say, but in both, the female involved fits your wife’s description the vehicle has California plates. Which is where she was supposed to have gone. We would like to look at her online history if you have a computer she used. We want to see if she may have met someone online.

I don’t much think it’s her but never thought she would leave her only child.

Log in to write a note