Funeral

I went to my cousin’s funeral on Friday. It was so sad and I really broke down in tears. She’s older 56 and left behind an 18-year old son and a husband and 11 brothers and sisters. I really didn’t want to view the body, but I did anyhow and she looked like she was asleep. The coffin was silver with a peach trim and she was dressed in a white gown and whoever did her makeup put too much on. The service began at 11:30 and lasted about 2 hours or so. After the service we went to place her in the ground and I saw her husband walk away and go sit in the car. I really don’t know who would want to witness such a thing. The Priest said a few words and then we were given the green light to put flowers on the coffin. The coffin was lowered and then the service men began to dump dirt on it and press it down and then they rolled the grass back on top.  I hugged my cousin after the service and I told him he was like my little brother and that I love him so much and that if he ever needed anything to give me a call.

 

We went back to the house after the service for food but had it not been for the black clothes no one would ever know the family was in mourning. There was laughter and music playing. We met again Sunday night because there was family that hasn’t been seen in years and we thought it would be a good idea to get together. It was a nice get together of about 150, maybe more. My godmother, the sister of the deceased was really sad that everyone was partying after her sister’s death.

 

Saturday night I was making cupcakes and the mixer started to spin the opposite direction. It really freaked me out but I just figured that it was her making her presence known. My brother told me that when we got to the get together yesterday, he could have sworn that he saw her.

 

The last time I saw her alive was Thanksgiving I believe or it could have been at my Uncle’s wedding. Her death was so sudden. She got up to go to the bathroom and fell down and had a stroke. 10 minutes later she was in a coma and 3 days later she was brain dead. I’m going to miss her terribly.

 

The plan is for her husband to sell the house and move up north. The son in college is going to move there as well. I know he is taking this really hard but fortunately for him he has a really strong support system. We don’t know when we will see each other again but he’s very loved and I know that his mother is watching over him.

Log in to write a note