Hmm… a comeback, maybe?

____________________________

Maybe I WILL keep updating here, after all… even if it is for my eyes only.  I have always liked writing and putting my thoughts in words has never failed to calm me down. So why not, eh?

Speaking of writing. I’d love to go back to it. I had most fun writing fanfiction, but I eventually quit it because none of what I wrote belonged to me and I am a horribly possessive creature. I have two original characters from my fanfiction stories that are very close to my heart and I would love to write a story featuring them. A story where everything would belong to me. The problem is that my main character, my alter ego Tasharene, is totally defined by the world and events from Baldur’s Gate2 and Neverwinter Nights games… I guess I could re-write her story putting her in a similar fantasy setting. After all, a fantasy-styled tavern and town are gonna look and work similarly in any setting, they don’t have to be in Forgotten Realms world to work for my story… I could just create my own world for that. The question is – if I decide to go this way, if I write about somewhat similar events and similar characters, will I be plagiarizing or not? I’ve never stuck closely to in-game events, so that shouldn’t be much of a problems, but if I create a character similar to an in-game NPC, for example? I dunno…

Now for something completely different. I watched Avatar yesterday. I had a visual orgasm, to be honest. Never seen a movie equally beautiful and equally well done as far as technical aspects go. All those lights, colors, creatures, landscapes… my goodness, what a delicious feast for the eyes! And as usual with Cameron movies, the story wasn’t particularly original or deep (nature vs technology theme has been done sooooo many times), but damn, was it captivating, lovely and – overall – well told. I had tears in my eyes when the Tree was destroyed. I almost sobbed when that burning animal – forgot the name – was running across the screen. I guess this was one of the most striking scenes in the movie. Sure, it’s just a movie, but it tells so much truth about us… movies like that make me feel ashamed that I belong to human race. And love… ah, I’m such a sucker for a mushy and somewhat dramatic love story and Avatar really delivered. My favorite scene? When she saves his human body at the end… when they say "I see you" to each other – the human him and she, a Na’vi. Ah, love…… knows no boundaries, overcomes all obstacles… that’s how a true love should be.

I just wish I could see that movie in the 3D version. Cursed be my faulty eyes.

*grumbles*
____________________________

Log in to write a note