Update on the Job

Well I did not get the job with the Adoption agency.  It was the old "you are highly qualified, but we chose a candidate whos skills more aligned with our needs".  I think the reason they didn’t offer it to me was because of money.  I could not live on what they were offering.  I was SO upset; but I can’t put my family finances in MORE of a crunch to take a position.  So, it looks like Bubba will be home with me this summer until I find a job.  We may be working on the house – painting, staining the deck, etc – to prepare for the possibility of having to sell at the end of the summer.  Unemployment runs out for me in the middle of August (unless they extend it for a 4th time).  After August we will have to sell or borrow money from my mom just to make payments.  It kills me, but I will worry about that when the time comes .

My courses this semester require ALOT of study and reading time, so its almost best that I don’t have a job this summer; though I need one desperately.  Until then, I will just concentrate on my son, my classes, and thinking of ways to make some money to supplement our needs. 

I’ve also learned some lessons where friendships are concerned.  They are lessons that I thought I had learned; but apparently needed a refresher course.  I just  need to emotionally remove myself from situations that drain me.  I’m a giver in relationships and unfortunately, that is taken advantage of more times then not.  Its a mantra I have to keep repeating in order to remember that I don’t always have to reach out my hand for it to get smacked over and over again.  Its not really in my nature NOT to care, but I DO need to distance myself, in order to keep things in perspective and not allow those who take advantage to hurt me. 

Everyday is a learning experience.  I am so thankful that I’ve had this time off to be with  my son.  I’m so thankful that I do have a handful of friends that I can count on.  I’m so thankful that we’ve been able to make it through this time of unemployment without losing our house (so far).  It amazes me how we’ve managed; but I am always hopeful for the future and realize that things really do happen for a reason, even if we aren’t aware of it at the time. 

I hope everyone is well and happy!  Have a great week!

Log in to write a note
June 1, 2009

I hope you find a job soon!

June 1, 2009

Random noter here: Sometimes we do need refreshers, there are things we kind of loose track of and then one day we have a bit more time to think or who knows what and we have to relearn something. I used to be like you, and to an extent I still am with my really close friends but with friends I’m not as close with I’ve kind of gotten a bit hardened off. I really hope you can get a good job, I hope you don’t have to sell your house. I wish times weren’t so tough for a lot of people.

June 6, 2009

Sorry about the job but like you said it’s probably for the best – everything happens for a reason right? Just wanted to remind you again I miss ya and do hope things go well for you this summer and hope you don’t have to sell the house!!

June 8, 2009

ryn: I think the salmon baked for about 20 minutes? We had a recipe that said something crazy like 8-10 but it wasn’t anywhere near cooked so we just kept checking it until it flaked in the middle. The rice was one of those microwave pouch things from Uncle Ben. Super easy!

June 18, 2009

ryn: I didn’t take you off friends, I just edited that entry and then privatized it. No worries 🙂

June 28, 2009

/hugs. ryn: ty!

July 2, 2009

Good luck with everything! I hope you find a job soon!

July 2, 2009

ryn: You could still do the hair do. I guess it’d be more difficult if you have THICK THICK hair, though.

July 15, 2009

ryn: Not really. lol it’s actually VERY hard to follow – at least for the first few days. it involves a lot of reminding yourself that the really hard part only lasts for 2 weeks and then you have SOME freedom again. and when you get there, it’s reminding yourself that it’s only another 2 weeks and you’re be almost back to normal. lol you can check out my blog mymakersdiet.blogspot.com where i

July 15, 2009

*c* outline the week 1 plan completely, and i’ve also posted some recipes but i have a ton more to post, still.

September 10, 2009

ryn: OMG i <3 farmville so hard. i’m not exactly sure what the point is other than building a large, fake farm. haha. try it out for a while, i bet you’ll be hooked in no time!

September 14, 2009

ryn: Thanks for the notes! That sucks that you’re allergic. 🙁 Those kitties are like my babies. Don’t know what I’d do without them!

June 14, 2010

I’m sorry the job didn’t work out 🙁 I was reading through some REALLY old entries of mine (back from 2006…actually) and one entry had a note from you. Don’t know what made me click it…but here I am. I have no idea if it was a one time note, or if we connected and drifted away…really not sure. Yet, here I am. I know my life has changed quite dramatically since way back when. Looks likeyours has taken quite a few twists and turns as well. We share a number of OD friends it appears. That’s always nice. Be well!

July 1, 2010

Aw, bummer! But, it’s all for a reason. (Even though, that always stinks to think about when you can’t see the reason yet!)

December 1, 2010

ryn: Glad I’m not the only one 😉

February 18, 2011

ryn: Thanks and THANKS LOL 🙂

July 15, 2011

RYN: I hope everything works out for you. I really do. Keep me updated, and I wish you all the best.