When Everyone Knows Your Name

Yesterday I was at a grant writing workshop in the County next to where I live. Five people in the class. Another person I have seen around before in EMS circles but didn’t know her by name. We do the class introduction thing and then after lunch she blurts out, “Now I remember where I know you from!”  I’m now worried. I’ve been in a lot of circles, some of which are a bit less mainstream. “I work for County dispatch and the police are always giving your name for the pronouncements!”  Well now the entire class is looking at me oddly.

So I did ask her why when the police call in my name the dispatchers always ask where I work. She said that there are nurses out there who do pronouncements who have no emergency background, have never seen a dead body and can’t spell CPR. Now that she knows me she won’t question it any longer considering I’ve been doing EMS for 32 years and have seen dead bodies.

My wife is amazed at how I always run into someone I know wherever I go. On our honeymoon in Florida at Disney I ran into someone I knew.

Log in to write a note
April 12, 2018

You’re a sociable sort, so I imagine a lot of people know you. Glad you are well.