07/27/2009

Lately, I feel like I’m hanging in limbo, unable to move forward or go back.  Aaron was here this weekend, and he and I got along so well.  We were able to have entire conversations about things that had nothing to do with the kids, we were able to joke around with one another.  For me, at least, the family felt whole again.  And now I’m back to the same old crap, fighting to put both kids to bed on my own and dealing with all the stress and headache by myself. 

*sigh* 

I guess I’m just tired of not knowing where things are going.  But I don’t have the energy to think about it all day long; it drains me.

****

Tomorrow I’m putting in my rental order for my lenses for the wedding on the 8th.  I’m getting a 17-55mm 2.8 and maybe a 50mm.  I think I’m going to go ahead and rent a speedlight too so I can play around with it, but not necessarily use it for the wedding.  Although, I may need it for the reception, which is in the American Legion building.  Those tend to be on the dark side anyway. 

I’ve gotten a few inquiries about shooting weddings for next summer.  It’s amazing how beneficial word of mouth advertising is.  I’ve not done any advertising at all beyond setting up my Facebook fanpage, but I’m still fielding a couple of inquiries a week.  Not all of those turn into bookings, but I expect that.  I’m still starting out so I don’t expect to be busy, busy, busy right out of the starting gate. 

The business/legal/accounting aspect of starting a business is trying to do my head in.  I was really excited yesterday when I found a free version of Peachtree’s accounting software, but after I downloaded it, it wouldn’t install before I installed Service Pack 1 for Vista (which I was loathe to do), so I spent two hours installing that.  Now the accounting software won’t install because it says some database thing is not connecting, which is basically German to me.  From what can translate, it’s a firewall problem, but even when I turn off my firewall it won’t install.  And I was really excited to use this software because, unlike Quicken, it’s a true double-entry system. 

Eh, you guys don’t want to hear me ramble about that stuff.  Off to class I go…

 

 

lilypie 3rd birthday tickerlilypie 1st birthday ticker

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 27, 2009

I do cuz i love accounting lol anyway.im glad u guys had a nice weekend 🙂 even if its over now

July 27, 2009

sounds like things are going well with the photography. it must be hard being in ‘limbo’ with things with Aaron. You need to know where you’re heading… xx

July 27, 2009

It’s so exciting to know that your photography business is going so well. 🙂

July 29, 2009

No! Not….ACCOUNTING!! *gasp*faint*

well done on all the wedding inquiries! xx

well done on all the wedding inquiries! xx