a proper entry at last

 

 

 

Aaron’s off at my mom’s getting help from my dad to put a new dimmer switch in his car, and the kids are currently enamored with Dora on Netflix (bless that Instant Watch disc for the Wii – it’s been wonderful!), so I finally have time to sit down and get a few thoughts out. 

I’ve not been feeling quite myself the past week or so.  Some of it has been the obligatory fatigue that comes along with my period, but I think the bulk of it has to do with my diet.  I’ve backslid way too much to the point where I’m eating too much convenience crap food (because I’m busy) and not enough fruit and veggies and healthy proteins.  My mom has had a pretty bad health scare recently, and that’s made me a bit more aware of the crappy family history I’m battling when it comes to heart problems.  Also, my mom was 26 when she had to start on blood pressure medication full time, which is how old I am now.  For her, it’s been downhill since then, leading up to a cardiologist appointment in a week with a possible angioplasty to follow.  She’s only 44.

Honestly, it really pisses me off that she’s in this spot, and she’s not really doing anything about it.  Sure, she’s taking all of her medications, but she’s finding all sorts of reasons (excuses) not to quit smoking, she still eats crappy food from the deli down the road at least three times a week (half their menu is deep fried), and when she exercises it’s half-hearted and sporadic.  But she still complains she’s doing everything she can.

So, I’ve been given a wake up call, of sorts, telling me that I definitely need to start getting healthy, because the time is going to come soon where I’m going to be taking care of her, or Goddess forbid, taking care of our entire family (my dad, brother, grandmother, etc) without her here.  Plus, I just need to start feeling better.  I get tired so easy, and some days after work I just don’t have energy for anything. 

I’m doing better this week; I made up a meal plan for next week so that I knew we would have healthier foods to fix in the house.  I also finally bought the Wii fit, which I LOVE, and along with the Wii Fit Plus game I got the Biggest Loser game, and I plan on alternating between the two during the week.  Finding time to use the balance board is tough, though, since the kids are enamored with it and want to stomp/jump/play on it when ever I have it out.  I have to store it on the very top of a six foot tall bookcase to keep it out of their reach.  lol.

I’m also trying REALLY hard to stop drinking soda.  Pepsi is my weakness, and I’ve tried a hundred times to cut it out.  I’ve managed to cut down to one can a day that I drink first thing in the morning like coffee, just so I don’t get a headache.  I’m going to start doing away with that one at the beginning of the week.  My problem is that I can’t stand to drink nothing but water all day long.  But, Crystal Light finally came out with a drink mix that doesn’t have aspartame in it and is only 5 calories, and it has a pretty strong taste, so I’ve been drinking that during the day when I’m sick of water.  Probably mixing it with club soda in the mornings would give me that psychological feeling the I’m still drinking my Pepsi.  Might have to try that. 

 

Well, now the kids are trying to kill each other so I’m going to have to go. 

lilypie 3rd birthday tickerlilypie 1st birthday tickerlilypie kids birthday tickers

 

 

 

 

My Stick Family from WiddlyTinks.com

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note