past time for an update

 

Wow, so much for me being around more often, huh? 

I do try to stop by at least once a week to catch up on what everyone has been writing and to leave sporadic notes, but I so very rarely have much time to be on the internet these days.  And I always seem to have more pressing things to do than write an OD entry.  But, I have a rare weekend off (or, as close to a weekend off as I get), so I thought I’d take the time to sit down and write. 

My job is so crazy, and I thought I’d hate working as much as I do.  There are some weeks when the hours I work really burn me out, but I LOVE my job.  I love the work I’m doing and the control I have in shaping the direction of our business and our store.  It’s very rewarding, and my manager is already talking with the District Manager about the possibility of me taking over my own store as General Manager as early as next year.  It blows my mind that in four years I have gone from a part time cashier with this company to practically running a store and making a shit ton more money than I’ve ever made in my life.  Like, honest to goodness legit middle class.  Blows my mind.  And I feel proud that I’m able to do this for our family, that I can give them a lot of financial security that I never had as a kid. 

The work is hard, though.  Last week was our inventory, we were short a manager, and I ended up working 90 hours for the week.  Tomorrow is my first real day off in 18 days.  So, I’m definitely earning my salary.  But like I said, this hard work will pay off in about a year when my salary doubles. 

This job has had some unanticipated benefits too.  Like, I have loads more patience with the kids now.  And a lot of their behavior problems have evened out just because they consistently have one parent home with them all the time.  It also really takes a lot of stress off of me to not have to worry about any of the housework/homeschooling.  The house doesn’t get managed the way I do it, but I try not to nitpick about that. 

I’ve been managing my stress by trying to stray creative, and trying to blog a little bit over at http://www.craftingsanity.com.  I started the blog as a place to write, to record my creative endeavors, and to help me as Aaron and I work toward simplifying our daily life.  We’re really struggling with letting go of possessions, and with not adding new possessions to the clutter.  I’m hoping that blogging, with a little bit of accountability, can help us there.  Aaron’s already made good progress on some things.  He’s starting making home made laundry detergent and body wash, and even some of his own food seasonings!  Next up we’re going to try cold process bar soap, hopefully during my vacation next week.  We’ve assembled everything we need to try it out, we just need the uninterrupted time to put it together. 

 

The older kids are in bed, and I think Aaron and I are going to curl up and watch a movie.  I’ll try not to let it be so long until my next update!

 

Log in to write a note