Maverick Effect (Chapter 20)

  Maverick laid on the floor of the living room.  The carpets were thick and plush, being almost as comfortable as lying on a couch.  Jessica and Natalie laid down with him.  He lay looking at the ceiling, collecting his thoughts.  Jessica and Natalie were both used to this, staying silent.

  “Let’s go back a couple of years ago.  I was going to the crappy college in my home town.  Not the community college, I wasn’t that bad off.  But it was was a state university, not much of a step higher.  I was dealing with things alright.  I had gotten used to being on the edge of losing my mind as a normal, everyday occurance.  So, some days I actually had good days.  That day was a good day.  I was on my way out of a class, I can’t remember which one.  I had actually gotten to be well liked in that class, so I was talking with a couple of girls from the class.  They were good looking and actually seemed interested in what I was saying.  So, needless to say, I was on cloud nine at the time.  I thought maybe I was dreaming.  This was no regular occurrance.  Anyway, the class we got out of was right next to the fine arts building.  Somehow that got into the conversation and I mentioned that I was taking voice lessons.  Back then I was just learning to sing.  Anyway, one of the girls told me to sing to her then.  I asked her what to sing.  She had seen me come into the class earlier wearing my headphones, so she said to sing the last song I listened to her.  I could tell from the expression on her face that she was daring me, but didn’t think I’d do it.  Normally, I probably wouldn’t have, being too shy.  But something about that day just pushed me.  So, I took a deep breath and opened my mouth.

‘Hey Doom ba doom ba doom ba

Oo Wa Oo wa oo oo wa oo wa

Why do fools fall in love

Why do birds sing so gay

And lovers await the break of day

Why do they fall in love…’

  I sang the entire song as we walked.  I couldn’t believe I was doing it, but it happened nevertheless.  I couldn’t believe people’s reactions either.  People were stopping to listen, some people even changed direction and followed us.  Finally, when I finished the song there was applause, all around me.  I was speechless.  I could hardly believe what I had just done, I definately couldn’t believe the reaction people had.  Then, after people stopped clapping and started going their own way.  Ruby, the girl that asked me to sing to her, just grinned at me and kissed me on the cheek.

  ‘Thanks Mav.  I’ll see you on thursday.’

 Just after she left this man walked up to me.  He was in a business suit.  He held out his hand and shook mine with a firm girp.

  ‘I’m Jorge Garcia.  I have to say that was great, just amazing.  You sounded great, and just the effect you had on the crowd.  Wow.  Listen, I’m starting a new agent firm and I’d like you to be our first client.  I’m totally serious and on the level here.  I’d like to get a sound test and maybe even sign you.’

  I really couldn’t believe what I was hearing.  Mostly cause I couldn’t believe it, I became suspicious from the get go.

  ‘That sounds great Jorge.  A little too great.  I’m not interested in becoming another cookie cut, bubble gum pop star.  And, I’m getting a little too old to be known as a boy band member.’

  ‘Okay, I really want to work with you though.  Maybe we can figure something else out.’

  I looked at him.  I wanted to see if he really was serious about trying to sign me, to really, actually work with me.  I knew what to do.  I pointed back toward the music building.

  ‘See that building over there?  If you’ll come to the auditorium tomorrow around 10:30 in the morning and meet me, I’ll work with you.’

  I knew that if he didn’t want to work with me, he wouldn’t come.  I would be no better off then I had been before.  If he did, well I’d see what happened then.”

  “Did he?”  Natalie spoke, her eyes wide, listening to the story.

  “Actually yes he did.  He came in and got a suprise though.  He came into a university chorus rehersal, that I was a part of.  He sat down and actually listened through the whole class.  Actually listened, that was what really impressed me.  He didn’t sit down to wait, he sat there to listen to the music and to me.  So, I worked with him.  We talked.  There was some discuession, some arguement.  He got more than he bargined for with me.  He knew from the beginning that he’d have an unusual rock star.  I didn’t play guitar or piano even.  I played a violin.  I wrote my own songs.  So we recorded my first two songs.  One was my own song, the other was a cover of another song.”

  “Which one?” Jessica asked.

  Maverick smiled, looking into her eyes, “Brown-Eyed Girl.  The members of the firm heard those two songs and that’s all they needed.  I was signed on that day.  And things took off from there.  There’s more to the story.  But I think we can take a break for now.”

  Maverick gave each of them a mischvious grin, sprang up and ran off to the bedroom.

  Jessica and Natalie looked at each other for a couple of seconds before running after Maverick, giggling and screaming.

 

-Damien

Log in to write a note
March 1, 2004

Nice 🙂