Redemption (Chapter 7)

Dimitri walked along the park with Akuma.  He smiled and waved to Yokko and Shelly, practicing with streamer wands.  He then turned back to his conversation with Akuma.

  “So you have no idea who they were or who they represented?”

  “No sensai.  I don’t.  They came out of nowhere.  And left just as quickly after I refused them.”

  “This is disturbing.  This is not the way these matters are handled.  This sounds more like those movies you always watch.  Professionals never hire this way.”

  “I don’t know about professionals, but these were corporate.  A “test” like that is too expensive not to be corporate.”

  “I know.  I’ll see if I can find out anything with the contacts I have.  Until then I suggest you be on your guard.”

  “I know.  And I’ve already warned Shelly to be on her guard.”

  Akuma nodded and thought to himself before speaking again,

  “There seems nothing more to do until we find out more.  Do not dwell on this.”

  Dimitri nodded this time.

  “Will you be joining us for dinner Akuma?”

  “I’d be delighted.”

  They walked back to join Yokko and Shelly.

 

-Damien

Log in to write a note