The Aftermath

  "I used to work in a pickle factory. I got fired from that job though. I got fired for sticking my finger in the pickle slicer.  Yes, the pickle slicer….She got fired too, both of us got fired."

  – Ron White   

  Good day to all.  Its the day after my birthday and I don’t feel any different than I did the day before my birthday.  Hehe.  I know that since I’m now 25, car insurance will go down.  I also noticed that, for the first time, I got a birthday card from my parent’s insurance rep.  Hmm…concidence, I think not.  Hehe, anyway.  My day started out nice enough.  My dad came and told me happy birthday before he left to work, but I was half asleep still.  Then, when my eldest sister woke me up to get ready for work she wished me a happy b-day.  I washed up, decided on what to wear, got dressed and we got ready to leave.  My mother came and wished me a happy b-day and we left.  My elder sister was still asleep.  Hehe. 

  Anyway, when we got to work, they had a really nice almond poppy ring cake and grapes there.  My boss, who we’ll call Yukiko knows I don’t drink coffee, so she even got me one of those MDX energy drinks.  So the people from the office got together and we ate cake and sat around and talked for awhile.  Then we finally got back to work… for an hour and a half.  Then we went to lunch to celebrate my birthday.  Hehe.  We went to this place called Singapore Cafe, which makes Thai and Chinese food.  It was so good there.  And Yukiko said it was her treat, so she paid for my food.  I had the sweet and sour chicken, they’re the only place I know that makes it just right.  The outside breading is golden and crispy.  The chicken is tender and the sauce is flavorful and light.  Its a nice golden color, none of that gloopy stuff that alot of places serve.  I couldn’t even finish it all though.  I had to get a to-go box.  Hehe.  Anyway, they gave me a card from everyone and I got my first bottle of wine.  Its a kosher wine though which is supposed to be a little on the sweet side, so maybe I can actually drink some.  Anyway, then I came back, finished up one last work project and packed up for the day.

  I left work and went across the walkway to the student union.  I took care of a couple of things, then I met up with Krillen.  We went to the UPS store because I wanted to mail off a couple of things.  Then we went to Capshaw Olivas music because Krillen needed to find a new book for his student.  He teaches violin to the daughter of one of the choir members at his church.  After that we went and picked up Marie.  *grins* She decided to give a donation to the Foundation when I came to her door.  After that we left to the bank, where Krillen and I talked about a new story we’re working on while Marie took care of a couple of things she needed.  Then we headed out to the mall.  We looked around and didn’t see much, but we did go into Wilson’s Leather and I found a jacket!  Woo hoo!  And it was on sale and then they had another markdown going on top of the sale price.  It was a sweet deal.  I’ll take pics later and post them to see what you all think.  We were supposed to meet my family at the restaurant at 6pm, so we decided to leave after that to get there on time.

  So we’re driving to the restaurant, a place called Avilas.  It serves some good Mexican food.  I get a call from my godmother, my Nina in Spanish.  So she tells me that they’re running behind and they’ll try to get there as soon as.  I kind of expected it though, since they’re usually running late.  Hehe.  Anyway, we get to Avilas and we don’t see any family members car in the parking lot.  Right after we park my cell phone rings.  My parents and my elder sister are stuck on the highway in some mess that the police are trying to divert traffic. 

  *Later on we found out that it was some stupid Mexican band that was creating all the traffic problems, they decided to play a random concert at Wal-Mart of all places.  How ghetto can you get?  Anyway…

  They had already called my eldest sister and warned her about the traffic, so she was able to take a different route from the office.  But they told us that we should probably get a table for everyone now instead of waiting for them.  So we went in and asked for a table for ten.  The waitress seemed a little suprised, but she said okay and went to go get one ready.  We waited a little bit and then got steated, gave drink orders for ourselves and waited.  Luckily, my family got there about ten minutes later.  And then my cousins and my Nina got there 5 minutes later.  So we all sit down and order and we’re just talking and laughing and it just felt great because for once my parents had just sat back and let whatever happen, well, happen that day.  They didn’t try to make it seem like a huge deal or anything, they just let it flow along.  So then I opened presents.  And that was great.  I got cash from my cousins and my Nina, probably cause they didn’t know what else to get me.  Hehe.  But they made the cards themselves and they were both pretty funny.  Especially my cousin’s card, it said.

"We wrote you a check for your birthday, but then one of the two cats ate it and we’re not sure which one.  But I’m pretty sure that your check is in the male."

  Hehe.  Anyway, then my parents got me the next set in the Dragonlance book series and it was the collectors box set too.  And they got me the special edition of the Shawshank Redemption movie.  My sisters got me Shrek and Shrek 2 on dvd.  I think they got me another one but I can’t remember off-hand.  Marie got me the Punisher movie and she was also able to find Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for PS2.  I was excited to get another part to my collection and that game has been so hard to find for some reason.  Then Krillen got me the Harry Potter replica wand from th

e Noble collection.  It looks really nice, the box it comes in and everything.  After all that and cake too we went back home for a little while, then Krillen, Marie and I went out again.  We stopped by Wal-Mart and while we were there I was able to find The Replacement Killers and The Musketeer in the bargin bin.  So I was pretty happy about that.  Then we went to Clicks and played some pool.  It was Marie’s first time in a pool hall and her first time playing pool since her brother tried to teach in back in 5th grade.  Hehe.  So she learned how to play pool and she did pretty well.  I wanted to play more, but I knew I had to call it a night because I still had to work today.  So, here I am at work.  Enjoying some leftover cake.  Hehe.  And so, after dreading it, my birthday came out to something much different than expected.  Maybe its just one of those things that when you’re not looking for it, it happens.

  Also, before I forget.  After our cake at work, I was able to get online and check my e-mail.  Both of my parents sent me e-cards.  They were both pretty funny.  My mom sent me one with cats in it, like our cats at home and my dad sent me an internet pin-the-tail-on-the-donkey game.  I even got birthday wishes from the Code Breaker forum and from Pepsi online.  Hehe.

  Then I got onto OD and saw all the wonderful wishes from my favorites.  Thank you all. Thank you Manda for your well wishes and your sweetness. Thank you Kristien for your subtle wishes, hehe.  Thank you Melissa for making me feel remembered and special.  Thank you Padme for your love and well wishes.  Thank you Melba for making me feel like something more.  And thank you to my more recent favorites, even though I know we haven’t been reading each other’s OD too long, you still took the time to wish me a happy birthday.  I feel special today, I feel remembered, I feel good.  And its been awhile since I could say that when someone asked.  Good day to all.

-Damien

 And I can’t leave you without my latest interesting pic find.  Hope you all enjoy.


 
 
   Does this qualify under winter wonderland?  Hehe.</div

Log in to write a note
January 13, 2006

Happy Friday The 13th!

January 13, 2006

HAPPY BIRTHDAY! lmao at that quote at the top AND at the snow thing

January 13, 2006

you ARE special so I hope u feel that way everyday honey i love you! 🙂

January 13, 2006

hehe I’m so glad you had a good birthday hun^^ and I’m glad you got your donation ^_~ next year will be just as good if not better^^ take care! Ciao!

January 13, 2006

Haaaaaaaaappy birthday! Glad it was fun and delightful. And LOOOOVE the pic. 😉

January 14, 2006

Happy belated birthday!

January 15, 2006

why does your picture doesn’t surprise me 😛 i’m glad you had a good b-day

January 17, 2006

Happy belated birthday! I bet it was quite thee concert at the Wal-Mart 😀 That would have been cool! Have a good one! Cheerio 🙂

January 17, 2006

RYN: There’s actually three tries.. I’ve taken once, it crashed once and now I have a final attempt.. but usually by tehsecond time I know what I’m doingwrong… if I can see what the answers are and why I got them wrong -.- I am so screwed XD and not in a good way O.o