Paranormal

The world of the paranormal is full of people passing their “scientific” opinions off as fact. And I put scientific in quotes not because I have anything against science, I believe in science of course. I put it in quotes because a lot of the science they put forth are their own theories that they claim are either proven and/or facts. A lot of times it’s really subtle because they talk very matter of fact, use sophisticated words, have ambiguous credentials or claim to have “studied” for so many years.

There’s stories I believe and stories I don’t. It makes sense that some paranormal claims aren’t what people believe to be. There’s going to be a certain number of the population with legit medical issues, such as borderline personality disorder or schizophrenia or sleep paralysis.

But I do believe some stories, and there’s other stories that I think are plausible but I admit I’ll never personally know the truth about it because it’s subjective. And then there’s experiences I’ve had. And this is where it becomes offensive to me. Sure, not everyone has to believe my story (if I choose to share it), but for someone to tell me I just had a hallucination is totally dismissive and condescending. There’s something about that that just screams, “You don’t know what you know, I know better than you and your experience was invalid.”

It’s elitest and sort of rude.

Log in to write a note
July 18, 2023

Yep. People get scared and instantly dismiss things. I have crazy experiences back to around 4 or 5 yrs old. I know what I experienced and anyone can poo-poo it but I know what I went through.