Hamster wheel

I am a nurse. I took some time off to spend time with my baby, especially since she was premie and I almost didn’t make it home to watch her grow. I took this time to go back to school and get by BSN. I love nursing. I love taking care of people, watching them improve. I really loved working with all my vets at the VA and am sad I currently won’t be going back. Maybe to another location in time.

I am super excited to go back to work in a hospital just down the road. I just wish it wasn’t in the middle of a pandemic. There is a shortage of PPE, our government has lost it’s mind. Part of me wants to sit at home and stupid people watch. But this is part of being a nurse. Caring for others no matter their Illness. This was just way easier to do when I didn’t have a child to come home to. Not that infecting James would have been ideal. But he’s an adult with an amazing immune system. Hopefully Quinn has inherited this from him, and she skips all the immune and hormone issues from me.

So I take a deep breath, and try to be thankful that James has a job that allows him to work from home. And that I have a career that will always provide jobs. I know friends who aren’t so lucky and are stressed about everything else that this virus is affecting. So I will take breaks from Trump’s fucktardary and the news when I need to, enjoy the time with my family, and be excited about caring for others again.

Log in to write a note
March 21, 2020

Nursing is a very noble profession.