Mawwige

So…. the wedding is tommorw. I’m kind of overwhelmed. I wish we had less things that we still have to do. Little things, yet… things.

However, once in a while I look back at all of the things that we’ve already done. It’s mountenous. So many meatings, shoppings, phone calls, little errands, creativity brainstorming sessions, list makings… It’s not to believe how much energy and work are nvested in one little evening. Every time I think – well, the big things are done! But then there are more big things. I wonder if I knew how much work this is, would I do it again? It’s been a hell of a learning experience. I’ve never ever in my life planned such a detailed and long-term project. I work in 1day – one month deadlines, and that’s vwery good for me. It hurts my brain to think too far ahead. There were a few things I wanted to do that I won’t end up having time for

It’s amazing how when something, anything, happens to you, it looks so much bigger than when it happens to someone else. When it’s someone else it’ like "wedding, big deal, they’re all the same…". But now i’ll know. So many things happened during the time we planned this. A whole war came and went… the world cup… and we’re all like wedding, wedding. And then tomorrow it will be over.

Some things in this huge project have already happened, and so far so good. The invites, for instance. i don’t have a copy on this computer so I can’t upload it… The main idea is this: ikea theme. why ikea? Because weddings are like ikea items. They all look the same in the end, but you’re attached to them because you made them yourself and sweated over them. So it’s designed like an assembly manual for a wedding. with little picture of screws next to pictures of grandmas, rabbi’s food and a dj. I think it camr out cute. .  I was scared at first to do something outragous, although wedding invitations are generally less formal in israel than in the states. A lot of people told me it wans’t funny and that people wouldn’t get it. But they did! It seems to have even turned into a mini cult item and one girl who didn’t get hers in the mail told me to bring it to the wedding because she wants one (!)

The other thing that happened was the beachlorette party. I’ve been waiting for that ever since I fist participated in one. There are many styles of Israeli beachlorette party and none  of them includes a stripper. Giraffe and Carrot planned mine, and they were amazing. They invested a lot into it. I could see they were anxious to see if I would have a good time. I really meant a lot to them. So amazing. I’m not used to having people so focused on me, you know? It made me a little bit guilty, but not too much.  Most of what happened during the evening was a surprise. Spaghetti picked me up at 18:00 and we drove to this amazing beach, where most of the girls already were. It took a long time for things to start (during which I thought my heart was going to burst from stress and anticipation because, you know, this i my only beachlorette party ever and what if it’s not fun?! But then they started with everyone telling the story of hoe they met me. And what they thought of me at the beginnig. And I relaxed bevcause they were being so flattering and nice. Carrot told them about how we went crazy in high school with our fake punk culture. Spaghetti and Giraffe and Soy talked about our times in the dorms with all o the craziness and the guys. Ruti, someone I haven’t talked about here, told about graduate school and how we used to studay together and sleep over, like high school kids. There wereabout 12 girls from different stages in my life. It was very cool. And then everyone brought me a very small present, the most amazing one was from giraffe, spaghetti and soym who brought me a booklet of pictures and quotations from our times at the dorms… there were some good times there, deffinately.

And then they brought out this girl who guided us in this meditation exercise which was just what I needed to get relaxed after all of the stress these past weeks. Breathuing deeply and looking at the sars above the see… so… earthy. and after she left I gave them something I mad for them – a CD with a song that makes me think about each one of them. We trekked up to the cars and everyone listened to their songs and hugged me… so girly, so much fun.

Ahhhh… i have more to write but there’s a wedding to prepare. It’s tomorrow (!!!!).

Log in to write a note
August 30, 2006

I’m so excited for you!!! Congratulations!

Om
August 30, 2006

Oh, yay! I’m glad you had a good bachelorette party. Congrats on your big day. Can’t wait to see pictures!

August 31, 2006

Congrats!!!! I’m so happy for you 🙂

August 31, 2006

Haha, you should put planning your wedding on your resume. Congratulations!

September 10, 2006

Wow, your invites sound so cute! I love that idea. Very creative. 🙂 And your party sounds like it was so much fun. So NOBODY in Israel gets a stripper for those things? 😉