Optician

Doesn’t matter how many times I have been, I dislike going to the opticians (even though the lady is very nice). My dislike has increased since I have gotten older.

I hate the contraption they stick on my head, I hate all the crappy little tests; there is always a new one they spring on me – today it was putting a load of orange dye in there to check for damage from my contact lenses.  I don’t understand what is going on i.e-how come the uncomfortable eye is the same but the other one that feels fine is now a bit more rubbish?!!! 

‘Is it darker with number one or number 2- is it clearer with number 3 or number 4…’ WHAT IS GOING ON? Why are you saying that- it is just the same bit of glass the wrong way round!

Also, I always need to go back for another visit and it always ends up costing me money that I haven’t got. So far £38 and that is just for peering at me and squeezing some orange rubbish in my eye that kept seeping out while I walked home so it looked like I had some sort of hideous infection.

Grumble grumble.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 18, 2012

Often times, I cannot see any difference in the two things they have you compare.. and then I feel like I am not getting it…

December 18, 2012

I hate how they insist on giving me the same prescription for each eye, even though they’re subtly different, because they don’t seem to think I can manage to keep left distinct from right. I’d rather have the slightly better sight!