Winter Olympics

Today I am mainly watching other people being terribly sporty in temperatures of about -13. I am celebrating this fact by sitting in the warm, eating too much and doing no exercise at all.

Tomorrow I will do better…maybe. (Don’t worry I do lots of exercise in the week).

Next week our boy is off school, as it is half term, so I will have lots to do then no doubt. I am thinking I should invite some of his little buddies round, I need to think of something interesting for them to do and what days might be good. I suppose there is craft stuff if the weather is bad, if the weather is good they can play in the garden or we can go to the park. Our boy is quite content with football and slides and things, but some other peoples kids always seem to need something fancier to do. I appreciate one day our boy will want to do things that cost lots more money but I can’t say I am in any rush for that. I often think people seem in a rush for their kids to be at the next stage of everything, to walk first, to talk first…etc etc. rather than appreciating all the lovely things they do in the here and now, the funny way they pronounce words or their excitement when they achieve something new. Perhaps it is because I am an older Mummy and feel less need to compete… perhaps it is because I lost one of my own parents relatively young I can just appreciate the time I have with him and I don’t need anything else, I am just content to be with him. We see friends, we play outside, we watch movies and bake. Don’t get me wrong he isn’t deprived of activities or anything but I also know that once he is at school things will be more regimented and he will have clubs, groups, after school stuff and then homework and things; eventually the time I will be with him will be less and less and he won’t want to spend time with me in the same way he does now- it’s just part of growing up- my part in his world will get smaller. I think I feel this more this year due to the fact he is going to school and time seems to be passing so fast. Also, now I am 36. My Dad was 36 when he first had a heart attack- it puts things into perspective a bit I suppose.

Log in to write a note
February 10, 2018

Enjoy that time while you can with them – it does pass so fast, and they are never that age again!

February 11, 2018

I think it’s cool that your kid is happy with simple things; I see a lot of families in my job, and I find it a little disturbing the amount of money they spend on them, and the inappropriate video games they let them play. The things you do with your son are the same things I did when I was a kid, and I wasn’t bored.