I have my life back.

 

 

I’m back in Pittsburgh. I start my PhD program in Pitt’s math department on, like, Monday. It’s going to be so awesome and so much work and I totally have to TA two calc 2 sessions without remembering exactly what calc 2 is or having any idea how to program in Maple.

Peter’s still going to be in St. Louis for a while. This isn’t marriage-in-trouble separation; I just couldn’t stand being somewhere where I had no life and no prospects any longer. It’s probably going to be a year or a year and a half before we live together again.

Now that I have a life, maybe I won’t be too ashamed of myself to write about it.

Edit: I just found out that my favorite person around here, Paula, died a few days ago. She was like my mom on OD. She always had advice for me, and I can’t believe I stayed away so long with no word. I wish I hadn’t come back so I wouldn’t know. I don’t know if I can deal with being back for a few days yet. Sorry for the false alarm.

 

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2009

It happens. Still so glad to see an update and that you’re at least on the path you want to be on.

January 3, 2009

I’m so glad to hear from you. I hope you can take control of your life again, and that you and Peter will be able to be together again soon.

January 3, 2009

PS – I’m so sorry to hear about Paula. I would freak out if I lost an OD friend.

i was so glad to see you updated. sounds like you’re right where you want to be. i know that feeling, where you know there’s nothing for you in a town/city/state. it’s why we moved. luckily, i didn’t have to poke bren’s butt with a hot poker to do it, but i would have. good luck with the program!

Sorry you came back to find the bad news. She seems to have been there for so many people on here. I do hope that you find what you are looking for now. You have been so unhappy for so long.

January 4, 2009

Glad to hear life’s rolling again, in the direction you would hope.

I’m so happy that you’ve written again. Congratulations on your acceptance into the Ph.D. program! You should be proud of yourself.

January 5, 2009

🙁 well… congrats on the changes and I hope it leads you down a positive path. I’m sorry that one of your favs has passed.i know it must be like a punch to the gut *huggzz*

January 8, 2009

Hmm. Interesting.

January 11, 2009

I was just thinking about you the other day. I’m glad to hear from you, even if it is only breif. 🙂

April 3, 2009
May 17, 2009

I hope all is well with you.

October 9, 2009

Hello there, I found you listed in “Christianity”, and thought maybe you might know someone who could gain a blessing from a blog I write in which looks at how to mature in our faith, and how to begin a walk with God. If you do, the web address is listed in my bio…and I look forward to spending time with you in our diaries in the future. Nice to meet you, Michael.

February 8, 2010

I miss you.

March 22, 2010

Hope the program is working out well for you!

April 24, 2010

I hope you’re doing well. It’s been ages .. literally!

November 2, 2010

So like, it’s been almost two years since you’ve written. I’ve been thinking about you!

November 17, 2010

Just popping in to say hi. I see you haven’t written in awhile and was wondering how you’re doing. 🙂

December 15, 2010

How are you?

December 27, 2010

I miss you.

January 18, 2011

So sorry to hear about Paula. I must not have known her. I know it’s hard enough when a fave disappears without saying farewell, but to find out about a death would be so much worse. As for your move to Phil., good for you! You were so unhappy and unfulfilled for so long. I trust your path is exciting again and that you will come back to us to tell us about it in time. The occasional long breaks from OD are part of real life, in my experience.

Been thinking about you lately. Hope you are doing well. I hope one day you do come back. <3

September 4, 2012

Glad you got out of St. Louis… don’t let it suck the blood and life from you. Pittsburgh is much better!