Winners never quit, and quitters never win…

 

 

But if you never win AND never quit…

Well, I quit.

I’ve been unhappy with my job for a long time. I wasn’t going to quit until I had a better one or to avoid another hellish holiday season, but yesterday really gave me no choice.

Things were mostly okay in the morning. I was working with Mike, the assistant manager, and no one was really hassling us. There wasn’t a bunch of annoying garbage to deal with.

At about one o’clock, this guy came in with a DS, a bunch of 360 controllers, several DS games, and half a dozen PS3 games. Everything had been opened (controllers were out of the packaging, games weren’t in plastic, etc.), but I probably would have been suspicious if Mike hadn’t greeted him with familiarity. The DS looked like it had never been used, and when I asked why he was getting rid of it, he said he’d gotten bored.

So, he took his money and left, and I commented to Mike that I couldn’t understand how people could have enough spare cash to buy expensive electronics, barely use them, and sell them back to us for a fraction of what they’d paid.

Mike informed me that this guy is an employee of Best Buy, and he just grabs this stuff out of their shipments, opens it up (because he knows we don’t take unopened stuff), and sells it to us. In fact, he’s done it for years.

I was aghast. It’s one thing to cynically suppose that half of our customers are crooks, but to KNOW such a thing beyond a shadow of a doubt and still condone it?

Mike’s reasoning was that he’d just sell the stuff somewhere else if we didn’t take it, so we might as well benefit from it. Basically, it makes our store’s numbers look good. He then informed me that, aside from turning away unopened product because that’s GameStop’s official policy, I had to take all trades, even if I knew they were stolen.

So I quit.

I thought this seemed like a pretty simple moral quandary to solve, and I was shocked that Mike didn’t see the problem in the first place. He’s a good guy, and one of my only friends around here. Almost no one else I’ve spoken to has understood, though. “It’s no skin off your back!” “Why do you care?” “It’s not like you’d get in trouble.” “He’s going to steal anyway.”

I’m not even going to get into arguments like “accepting stolen merchandise brings thieves into our store”, or even “if ALL GameStops cut this out, he wouldn’t have such a convenient way to dispose of stuff he steals.” I could bring up the fact that if I wanted to fence stolen property, I could do a lot better than $7/hour, but, the truth is that, $7 or $700, I’m not doing it. Maybe $7 makes it an easier decision, but the fact remains that I absolutely refuse to do it, period.

When I was a little girl, my father lost his job at Eastern Airlines, and he couldn’t find a job with another airline because he was a scab. He had two kids (this was before my little brother came along) to take care of and a mortgage to pay. A cousin of his got him a job at a Chrysler dealership that seemed like a godsend. He quit within two days because they wanted him to lie.

My dad approves of my decision, at least.

So does Peter.

Beyond that? Well, Mike, the old manager who got fired, thinks it’s great that I gave GameStop the finger, but that has nothing to do with integrity. No one else understands it.

Am I just incredibly naive?

Don’t answer that.

 

Log in to write a note

I don’t think you had a choice but to quit, myself.

June 6, 2008

It’s wrong and against the law. If you were caught you could go to jail. I think you were right to quit.

it’s not always for you to judge. best buy should have a loss prevention department that figures out what’s going on, then fires him. it’s for his own boss to judge. your morals aren’t going to make a difference to anyone but you. the only difference your decision makes is that you’re now unemployed.

June 6, 2008

I think you were totally correct. What is WRONG with peoople?

June 6, 2008

I’m surprised so many other people don’t see it your way. They probably just say that because they agree with you, but they don’t have the balls to do it, and instead of admitting that you, that’d rather make it sound like you’re doing the wrong thing.

heh… it cracks me up that so far, all the notes agree with you, but i guarentee you they would never have the balls to quit because of it. and maybe that’s why the world works this way. they all know what’s right and wrong, but money is more important. ryn: i don’t know what went wrong with that quiz, i really wouldn’t peg myself as THAT. but i love that they threw Brutus the Uterus in there!

June 6, 2008

Holy cow! I would’ve quit too! That’s so unethical, not to mention illegal…

you did the right thing.

June 6, 2008

I am put in mind of a line from one of my favorite characters from one of my favorite movies- Doc Holiday, in “Tombstone”: “I stand corrected, Wyatt. You are an oak.” You are a rockstar, girl. Don’t ever forget it. *hugs*

June 6, 2008

June 6, 2008

I see your side of this coin. I do. But I see the other: Best Buy is a big corporation with insurance that protects it from this kind of theft, so they’re not hurt by this. Continued theft from Best Buy by employees should be stopped by higher-ups, who in this case are obviously neglecting their duties if this guy has done this before. And who knows what this guy is dealing with in hislife right now. If he exchanges the stuff for cash instead of store credit, maybe he’s actually putting it to good use. Maybe not. But I like to think that even thieves can have good motivation behind what they do, sometimes. I’d like to say I’d do the same thing if I were ever in your shoes, but I probably would let the side of me that would think, “Me quitting this job will not change this store’s policy, and will not change my boss’s mind about this behavior, nor will it change the guy who steals from Best Buy. It’ll just leave me without a job, and in this shitty economy, I need to keep my job.” So then I wouldn’t. I don’t know. You’re so much stronger than I am.

June 8, 2008

I don’t think you made the right choice, I think you made the only choice. I would’ve quit too.

June 9, 2008

Uh, no. You’re totally right. Why hasn’t anyone called Best Buy on this dude? “Oh by the way, one of your employees is stealing stuff from your shipments and selling it to Game Stop. Fyi.” That’d put an end to it even if Game Stop still took stolen stuff from other people. And I’m really surprised if it’s actually Game Stop’s policy to take all trades even if they’re stolen goods. Maybe that’s just STL Ghetto policy…

June 9, 2008

Ryn: Yep. Dark pink and then progressively lighter shades of pink until I’m paper white again. I’ve had a tiny bit of a tan once before, and even then you still had to look pretty hard to see it.