I did it

This week feels both surreal and bittersweet.  For the first time in over 4 years, I do not have to go home to school work.  I do not have an additional book to read.  I do not have research to compile, complete and take notes on.  I do not have a paper off in the distance writing itself in my head while trying to relax.  I went back to school at 34, after a 14-15 year hiatus to pursue a degree in a subject I’m passionate about – not one that would necessarily make me a lot of money.  As of this week, I have completed all of the requirements for a bachelor’s degree in European History.  Not only that, but I’m graduating with honors at a 4.0 GPA, and have been awarded the Outstanding Student Award for having the top GPA in my program in my graduating class.

I don’t have a lot of time between undergrad and grad school.  I have even less time than I thought.  Originally, I was under the impression that Graduate School would be starting on May 21, giving me around 3 weeks breathing room.  One of my classes starts on the 21st, but the other one begins May 7th.  Part of me is glad to be jumping right in – I don’t want to get used to having so much extra free time, only to lose it again for another few years.  The other part of me regrets not having a little breathing room in between.  I haven’t determined which part is prominent.

This weekend, we will be celebrating my accomplishments with my family and a handful of close friends.  Devon, her brother Sean and I will be heading up to Orlando on Friday afternoon to begin the Disney celebration weekend.  On Friday night, we will be hanging out at Disney Springs, which is literally across the street from our hotel, and going to the Void – a Star Wars virtual reality immersive experience.  Leighann, Grace and James as well as Lesley and Craig will be meeting us at Epcot on Saturday.  We are going to drink around the world (and by drink, I mean that I will try a drink from every country but will not under any circumstances consume all of one – after 12 countries someone would have to wheel me out of the park).  We have dinner reservations at the Japanese Steakhouse in Epcot.  On Sunday, we will be going to Disney MGM to geek out over star wars stuff before heading back home.  I’m a little disappointed that I decided not to go to graduation itself in May, but I couldn’t justify spending the money to fly up to a city I don’t know, just for a day and a half and then come back home.  Instead, Devon and I will be going to visit the family for a week at the end of June in Maine.  That is a much preferable trip.

Log in to write a note
April 24, 2018

Congratulations, that is an awesome achievement! And 4.0 and with honors too!

April 24, 2018

@thediarymaster Thank you 🙂

April 24, 2018

@dreamerrising you’re welcome and well-deserved 🙂