102218 pt II

A girl at my workplace cried today. Granted, she is but 21. The boss wasn’t happy with her for miscalculating something and didn’t at all try to conceal it. The girl claimed that she was “yelled at.” But I was there, and I wouldn’t at all call that “yelling.” Yeah the boss was being a bitch but she always gets like that; I don’t see how it’s any deviation from her normal behavior; like, anything better is always a sigh of relief but otherwise you’d better watch out. Just don’t ever take shit personally.

But I think it’s telling about the girl. She’s a perfectionist. She tends to like being “better” and derives a lot of shame, for whatever reason, at not being the shining star, the perfect child. It’s something that seems to affect her deeply.
Regardless of the actual reasons, I can’t discount the fact that this incident had a strong reaction on her part. Part of me feels like the boss was being unfair to her; she was humiliated and belittled; she tries very hard and her ego is fragile. At the same time, she’s fragile because she wants to be perfect.

It’s all really none of my business. Plus I don’t have time for distractions.

I’m really stressed, and it shows on my body. I broke out in itchy stress hives again and this time I lost my hearing. My mom says it happens sometimes when you’re under a lot of stress. Indeed, today one of my coworkers took the time to pick off the new sprouts of hair from my head– all growing in white, and I’m not even 30 yet!

Stress hair.

🙁

The plus side is that I was able to work a 9-5 shift today. Will try to keep this up; I am so busy. I don’t have time to spend my life working all day everyday.

Log in to write a note
October 23, 2018

I always think of how President Obama’s hair grayed once he was in office.  Stress really can do a number on you.