.51

 

Hilarity of the day:

I got an e-mail yesterday from Student Accounts saying that if my bill wasn’t paid by Monday they were going to suspend my Blackboard (online class site) privileges. I found that amusing because I was waiting on the school for certification of my private student loan. So, I go online to check my bill and it says that I don’t have access to my summer account because of previous charges from the Spring 2009 semester. That’s funny, because I got a refund check from my school in March for the sum of over $2000. So, I check my account and they have me suspended for the amount of…

…51 cents.

What!?

So, I call Student Accounts to see if they can, I don’t know, take the charge away because I refused to use my credit card or write a check to pay 51 cents to the school. You know what she tells me? "We can’t really do anything about it. You live in *my town* and it’s only 30 minutes away, can’t you come pay it?"

Wait, so, you want me to drive 30 MILES to pay my 51 cent bill? Seriously? SERIOUSLY? Gas is at $2.59/gallon and you want me to do WHAT?

I couldn’t believe it. It wasn’t the fact that I had to go down there, because chances were that I was going to have to make a trip to school for financial aid stuff. They were no where near getting my loan certification done before Monday and they needed me to sign paperwork so they could defer my bill until July…but…the point is that they seriously asked me to drive a half hour to pay a .51 cent charge on my bill.

I don’t really know where the logic is there, but that’s New York State universities for you. *laugh* fifty one cents. God forbid I don’t pay THAT. The educational system as we know it could crumble at my very feet because of that unpaid balance!

In other news: the boy is back tomorrow. Hopefully in a better mood than he left New York in. Jeez. I asked him via text yesterday if he wanted to go with me to Beth’s surprise birthday party this weekend, but I told him I’d understand if he was too tired from all the excitement this week…but he was surprisingly interested in going. He then got distracted by the fact that the mystery dinner his parents were bringing him to was the CIA Greystone in Helena, CA. Understandably so! I’m jealous. Anyway, we’ll see! I’d like him to go, I want him to meet Beth (she’s my pseudo-girlfriend + intern) because I spend a lot of time with her…but I really do get if he’s too tired and not up to the people time.

Annnyway, I’m off. Later!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 6, 2009

It’s people like you that make my tuition price go up … cuz I actually pay my tuition bills! Lol

June 14, 2009

You should have tried to make them mail you a stamp to collect that money