Everyday things are healing

I texted my sister-in-law last night expressing how I need her in my life. Me, who is always the responsible one, is needing support. We talked about my husband (her brother) and what he going through with physical pain and mental anquish. But what helped most of all was talking about other things – the everyday things. (Note to self – sometimes people just need a does of the everyday, not your divine wisdom).  She told me she is practicing making popcorn in the pan that her dad used to make such excellent popcorn in. He was a gentle loving soul. He would make popcorn for all of our card games, or tv watching or whenever. He also make really good iced tea.  It was good to know she had his pan. We also talked about TV shows – we both like Hallmark and Lifetime movies. We talked about the online role playing game we are both playing (Final Fantasy 14) and our struggles with learning new things.
I am so glad I reached out to her. I have a feeling if we were in person I would not have been as vulnerable. There is something about text – and even here on OD – that allows me to be more emotional. This is a good change because until I feel these sad/scary feelings I forget what many people are going through. She has always been a person I could not quite understand – I am not good with feelings – and she has had a lot of them.

Log in to write a note
November 29, 2020

It’s always good to have someone or some place where you’re comfortable being vulnerable.
Side note:  Final Fantasy has always been one of my favourite game series, but I didn’t know there was an online version. Cool.

November 29, 2020

@wren not only is there an online version but there’s a free trial
Here’s the link

November 29, 2020

@duskvigil  Will definitely check it out.  Thank you.