A Trade of Hearts

It was, as if by chance, a turning in time.  A restless star, glancing, noticed something happening and spoke.
I’ve seen many things.  It’s rare that something takes me so much, but in one woman’s artwork a few nights ago I saw something that reached beyond the mortal, into the earth, it grasped the essence that many look for, claim to find, but in reality never do.  As it happened, we saw the potency in one another’s work and amidst the crowd and cacophonous music, late into the night, agreed to trade works.
Unsure how, I picked one piece that meant a tremendous amount to her.  I felt, in my heart, almost guilty.  I offered to let her choose from my works and we could come to an agreement.
And as if the stars heard the voice speak amongst them, the others turned their glowing faces in the moment.  I will never forget, seeing my own hands reaching out and carefully removing the piece of mine from the wall and offering it to her.  Of all my works, the one she chose was most important to me.  I’d called in to work the day before I left for the show just to finish and frame that one piece.
All was so brilliant in those moments, I think that I had said it aloud, “It belongs with you.”
I was certainly feeling and thinking it strongly enough.
The works were exchanged, we went back to her space and she signed her work to me, laying it down on the floor.  We embraced, she held the back of my head.
“We are trading hearts!”, she said.  Both of us fighting back tears.
Moments like these are why I do what I do in the end.  Treasures, notoriety, and so on, what do they matter?  Experiences have proven to be the most important, and potent, since I began doing whatever I feel I want to do.
I have a feeling I will not be the same person, for a week or more.  I can’t return so easily.

Log in to write a note