#24 -the england chronicles wrap-up

I cannot believe I’m actually just about done. I’ve really enjoyed writing about the trip, and also enjoyed all the great comments. I think I’ve put off finishing since once it’s done…. it’s over. Writing about it means reliving it just a bit. And it’s been really fun. {oh, and as an FYI, I’m putting all of these England entries into a chapter called England Trip. You can go to the front page and hit “chapters” and this one should be the default. I really did a terrible job numbering the entries and they don’t make much sense, so that was the easiest thing to keep them all together.}

SO. The last day was Sunday, October 31– yes, we flew home on Halloween. We had to leave the marina at something like six in the morning to turn the car in at Heathrow at 9:00. Our flight wasn’t till noon, so we figured we’d have plenty of time to hang out at the airport. Hahahahahaha!! No, of course not. First Kim had to figure out what to do about the broken modem situation (we’d rented it from Hertz) which took all sorts of consultations and I’m not sure even then she ever got a straight answer about what they’d charge. Then we had to catch the shuttle over to the airport. Then when we checked in, we discovered that our carry-ons were overweight. Oooops. I’d very carefully checked every possible thing regarding luggage flying over on US Air, and managed to completely ignore the fact that when flying back we were starting with Virgin and changing to US Air, so we had to follow the Virgin rules, which only allowed six kilos for the carry-on — just 13 pounds. So we had to check our carry-ons. Not that big a deal really, but it took time and we had to dig around and get anything out that we really did NOT want checked. My messenger bag was nearly overweight, so next time I’ve got to keep that in mind.

So we waved goodbye yet again (we thought) to Suitcase From Hell. Then we finally boarded the plane, with just enough time for a caffeine fix at Starbucks.

The flight was very long and very tiresome and very crowded and we both agreed next time we need to check into what they charge for seats with extra legroom. I lucked out going over and ended up in one of the first row seats they save for handicapped people, but poor Kim suffered both ways. She’s even taller than I am. I watched Winter’s Bone on the seatback TV. It was excellent but very grim and made me decide I will never EVER visit the Ozarks. Virgin Air has the nicest crew ever, though, and they were attentive and thoughtful and continually supplied us with food and drink which was kind of funny.

We knew we were back in America when we arrived at JFK and were treated with utmost rudeness by everyone we encountered. And we encountered a whole bunch of rude people, because for some reason we never did figure out, when we changed planes we also had to manually change our checked luggage. We didn’t have to do that going over, and from the Virgin crew’s reaction, it was a very odd thing to make us do. So I don’t know what had happened, but we were in charge of making sure our luggage got on the Charlotte-bound US Air plane. It made no sense at all and we got sent all over the airport and the American employees were nasty and rude and snappish. So although we thought we’d bid goodbye to Suitcase From Hell, we were yet again wandering all over a great big enormous airport with it and everything ELSE we’d checked, trying to figure out what to do. I’m sure it was all Suitcase From Hell’s fault – we went up and down escalators, hurried along vast walkways, took the airport TRAIN… honestly, it was like being back in London with the damned thing and I’m sure it was laughing the entire time. We ended up having to go all the way to US Airs terminal, about 98,392 miles away from Virgin Airs, and check it all in AGAIN. And if I’m not mistake we had to go through security again, although I could be making that up — at that point everything was a blur. I asked Mr. Organized about this later, as he’s taken international flights before, and he said they’ve had to go to baggage claim and just move their bags from one plane’s area to the others, but they never had to re-check in with them. It was very very bizarre.

But we finally did make it back. I think I slept the whole way from JFK to Charlotte.

And now… some of Kim’s pictures! Just as a change. Most of the pictures she took were pretty much exactly what I took, but it was fun seeing the differences. And she got a few things I didn’t.

Like Poppy! Our hosts had two cats, Rosie and Poppy. Poppy stayed out in the garden a lot and I  never did get a picture of her. She and Rosie were both exceptionally sweet and friendly.

And the back garden. I took pictures through the kitchen and looking down from my room, but for some reason I did not get a good picture of the entire garden.

And of course Kim got a zillion pictures of me, which seemed really odd as I was looking through them for the first time. “Why, there I am!!! There I am AGAIN!!!” I am not sure why that was so surprising since she was taking my picture every time I looked at her.

 

In front of Black Books!!!

 

 

I have NO IDEA why we never asked someone to take our picture together. None. We tried a couple of times to do it ourselves but the result wasn’t that great. We both got asked to take pictures of other people several times.

Oh, look, it’s me and Tall Guy!! I think neither of us are real crazy about having our picture taken, but I’m glad Kim insisted.

 

Oh, I really loved this night shot near Piccadilly Circus, with the full moon. None of my full moon pictures came out at all. Kim’s camera took good night shots on the automatic setting — it’s a Powershot that she bought RIGHT before we left. Like, the day before. I do wish she didn’t have the time stamp on, though. She didn’t mean to do that – it’s on some and not on others. The time is also wrong, being US Eastern Standard time.

 

And I absolutely LOVE this subway shot. I don’t think she took more than three or four subway shots, and I took about ten zillion, and I love this better than any of mine. I love the way it’s set up and how everyone’s dressed in black.

 

Long Eaton Duck-

OH, and one of her Barge pictures shows SMOKE from where the 200 year old barn had just burnt down the night before we got there. Possibly hit by a UFO. None of my pictures had any smoke at all.

And just to prove that, contrary to every other picture taken of me, I actually did take my coat off. Once or twice.

 

There was nothing wrong with his eye — I think he was just blinking maybe. He kind of needed grooming.

I liked the bench, which I don’t think I got a picture of. Going up to the Tor in Glastonbury.

 

And finally, being very studious in the pub where we had a beer and snack in Nottingham. I am trying to start a fashion trend with the dueling eyewear — sunglasses on my head, reading glasses on my face.

And…. that’s it!!! I really miss England. I loved every minute of it. Even the less than fantastic parts (getting lost, learning to drive by being thrown into the traffic, hellish roundabouts, broken modems, putting gas in the diesel- I didn’t even mention that!!! -put a couple liters of gas in, realized to my horror what I was doing, switched to diesel, consulted with the gas station guy who thought it would be okay and it was) were very minor. Most of it was totally wonderful. I would go again right this second. And will, although it will be longer than a second — maybe a couple of years. Baker B is dying to go, Kim is dying to go back. One of the best things is having DONE it, and done it so successfully despite all the worries over what could go wrong on an international trip that involved several lodgings, a boat, and a car– and knowing that it’s very doable. It was a great confidence builder. I can not WAIT to go back!!

Log in to write a note
February 27, 2011

oh what a wonderful wrap up. AND you are the most adorable little thing EVER, i’m glad you shared these pictures of you. xo

February 27, 2011

Did you find much of a language barrier there?

kim may go back with you on the condition the suitcase from hell goes back to hell and stays there. wait. it was borrowed wasn’t it? do i remember right?

February 27, 2011

That was lovely. I’m glad you enjoyed the UK. You might even tempt me to go back for a visit.

February 28, 2011

These are great photos. You really have an excellent touch behind the lens. Spot-on comment about everybody wearing black. I really don’t understand why people do it – it makes the darkness of autumn and winter seem even more miserable.

February 28, 2011

And next time …… Scotland as well!! You and Kim are what we call here ‘hardy’ – it means resilient, bold, brave, daring – and I’m so glad the whole trip worked out brilliantly for both of you – nightmares and all! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading about it – you’ve written about it so well and made me want to go and explore my own country lol. That last photo is quite weird – looks like there’s another face on top of yours and for a second there I was thinking wow they really need to get a feather duster or something out in that pub until I saw the rest of it and realised ……… doh!

February 28, 2011

As a reader, the end of your England descriptions feels like the end of a chapter for me, too. I’m so glad you had a chance to go and that you shared so much of it here.

February 28, 2011

sounds like coming home was a pain due to the airlines rules. what a nice wrapup of your trip. i hope you get to go back fairly soon. take care,

February 28, 2011

I know what you mean about it being a confidence builder. Once you’ve conquered the unknown you know you can do it again!

February 28, 2011

Very nice! You two must have had such fun going over her pictures together. What a great long in the making adventure. I am glad Baker B. is planning on going next time instead of directing you from Google maps from afar.

February 28, 2011

This was such fun seeing your pictures and hearing about your adventures. I can’t wait for you to go back.

I have NEVER heard of having to move your own luggage over. I travel a lot when I was young and switched planes often. I loved all the pictures. The train pictures fascinate me for some reason. They look so cool.

RYN: I have now made that long boring entry private because the diarist concerned got back to me and I felt like it was degenerating into “She said ..” “No, she said ” … so that’s why your very apposite, well expressed and not only that but cOrRecT !! notes are now invisible. But that does not convey how much I value them. And I must very soon give myself the enormous pleasure of reading through your travel entries, since they are for me a wonderful privilege .. I love the photos of course and your observations. That fact that you seem to feel, quite properly, many things in common eith me politically helps, naturally, but above all you write so well .. I do enjoy your diary.

ryn; the blue flower painting is my all time favorite. i never get tired of looking at it.

This is great. But I’m sad to see them done! And I’m so with you on that fashion trend. But amorcita is right! You’re the cutest ever!

This is great. But I’m sad to see them done! And I’m so with you on that fashion trend. But amorcita is right! You’re the cutest ever!

Glad you enjoyed your trip 🙂

September 29, 2012

very entertaining reads, and great photos — I followed [search results]’s link.