a fast update

Fast, and….cheery!!! How weird is that?? So far I REALLY like my new job. And that’s with the usual displacement and confusion and being the new guy who doesn’t know anything. I still love it. Everything is all shiny and new, and what I’ll be doing seems like it will be complicated enough that I don’t get bored. Yet it’s just ONE thing that I’ll be doing- or variations on one thing – and not five totally different jobs. That never get done and exist in an endless loop of interruption.

I’m half-sharing my desk with the woman who is retiring, so nothing feels like mine yet, but it will be soon enough. I thought where I’ll be sitting would be kind of in a semi-thoroughfare, but so far it’s very quiet and peaceful, and people seem to make an effort to NOT go though my "office" to get to other spots in the building. Which is old and very oddly set up – I think at one time it was apartments for house mothers, so it’s really strange. There are little kitchens and tiny bathrooms all over the place, and it’s a very small building. But it’s a maze of little corridors and rooms.

I have a window. A great big window that I can gaze over at the English building through. And at an old dorm where I lived one year. My freshman year dorm is right behind us. I guess that’s why things seem so weirdly familiar over there-  I lived beside/behind this building for my first two years on campus. It’s not that far from my old building, but is a whole different world. A wonderful world!!

It’s not busy at all right now, either. I’m sure things get much busier after school starts, and this is a very good time to start. I’ve got plenty of time to learn this fairly complicated stuff. Which I already had a semi-understanding of from my old job, so I’m not totally lost.

Insane Boss has only called once, so far. She called me today, asking me what someone needed to do to get admitted to teacher ed and take restricted classes. This person was in her office having a meltdown. Insane Boss hadn’t even thought to look for this person’s folder, which lists exactly what she has to do to get admitted. I’m sure Meltdown Woman didn’t have a copy of her program and requirements, since nobody seems to think keeping a copy for themselves might be helpful down the road. Like when they need to know what classes to take. Anyhow, this made me fear even more for what will happen in that office when she couldn’t figure out something that obvious.

She asked how I liked the new job. I said I like it so far, and that it’s very complicated. She said, "Oh, you didn’t expect that, did you!!!"

Ummmm…. well, yes, I kind of did! But what a bizarre thing to say! Thanks!! She did keep trying to convince me that I was making a terrible mistake. Yeah, right. Loon.    

Okay, I have to go to bed now. Everyone gets there way before eight -they are morning people – so I am making a supreme effort to be on time now.

Oh, the house is still being worked on, although the end may be in sight. NEXT TUESDAY. Apparently the raising will happen on Monday, though. They’re sure. Hmmmmm. And the car is still at the shop. State Farm has to send someone over AGAIN to approve them putting it on the diagnostic machine. Because it could be something OTHER than the engine!!! Looks like at least another lonely Stella-less week. My father has insisted on renting me a car again this weekend if mine is still not fixed, though, so that I can go down there and do the bills and clean the house. So I’ll visit her then, at least.

And although I was going to post more pictures, I’ve only got time to conjure up one via dial-up – lovely irises in Blowing Rock:

Log in to write a note

soon soon you will gave a resolution to it all. and then? clear sailing for some time! i am so happy for you. as for the loon. she is getting just what she deserves!

I got off the hamster wheel at an old job in Feb 06. I lost 20 lbs in 4 months. (in essense, I left stress). The feeling of not carrying that load lasted over a year and was terrific. I am still trying to find my place in the world again but things have recently been working out. : ) Beautiful Iris

July 17, 2007

A window! Nice picture. Our gladiolas are just coming in this week. I talk to them. This is really sad. I walk around with my camera and talk to the flowers. How great that this job sounds so marvelously sane but it all must be so disorienting… New job, no Stella, the car, the house! Pretty soon you are going to have to start sending Stella care packages with little toys and treats and have Kin call you when she opens them.

July 18, 2007

I’m glad things are going along well. Nice glads, I love the pink frilly edges.

July 18, 2007

I love noko’s note and think this weekend you should drop off a little framed pic of you and Baker B for poor lil Stella. What great news about the new job! And a window! Squeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!

July 18, 2007

I am glad to read you like your new job – AND a window to boot – COOL!

July 18, 2007

Ahhh, life is good. And I’m glad.

July 18, 2007

Windows are good. So glad it’s all going well – insane boss sounds like she’s missing you as well she might! I think you should send Stella some pics of you & Baker B & the house as well just to remind her where she has to come back to in case she gets to used to Kim’s place! RYN: I was thinking of you when I was uploading all these pics and would have totally understood if you’d given up with dial up so I’m impressed you stuck it out & happy it was worth the wait!

July 18, 2007

A house raising – is that like a barn raising 🙂 Am so happy about your job – yipee for you!!!

July 18, 2007

Neat! I thought those were called gladiolas. I’m glad you like your new job. It is making me wonder what else I could do with my life …

July 19, 2007

Wow, those irises are gorgeous! Glad for the window! And freedom from Insane Boss!

July 19, 2007

RYN – darn!!! I thought the age had just magically disappeared.

Your old boss is seriously insane, I agree. The flowers are gorgeous.

July 24, 2007

Nice colors in that photo. But then again, I’m on medication!

August 8, 2007

Pretty flowers. Stella is going to be so happy to be home.

October 16, 2007

LOL I know what you mean. In my current position I do six different things and I’m always getting interrupted.