currently in EdnaLand

I think it’s time for a March Currents entry. Especially since I only make a Monthly Currents Entry every ten months or so.

current physical state
Improving, but much too slowly to suit me. Remember how I was going to be all well and perfectly back to normal after, oh, two weeks tops??? HAHAHAHAHHAHA!!!! Yeah. It’s been …omg, it’s been nearly four weeks since The Surgery. No wonder I am very very sick of not being completely back to normal by now. And I’m doing okay, I just had kind of a setback this weekend which was really aggravating. I will not go into details because details involve TMI but let’s just say I was having some … issues. That might or might not be normal. And I also felt kind of horrible and laid on the couch all weekend long. As usual, convinced that I would never ever ever feel better for the rest of my life EVER and WAAHHHH!!!

And since I felt unwell we didn’t go see my MIL who turned NINETY today. Baker B’s brother and SIL were also not there because his brother has a respiratory infection and their mom does not want to be within 1000 miles of a sick person. Not that I blame her, since she is NINETY. And Baker B didn’t want to go himself and leave me here, in case I got worse. I will say that the MIL was not upset at her lack of birthday visitors and she did go out with friends tonight, but I still feel bad. That’s kind of a big birthday. We will go down next weekend, thought, and have a belated birthday bash.

ANYHOW, back to the topic – for some reason I didn’t even think to see if the doctor’s office had some weekend number I could call, so I didn’t even try calling until this morning. And of course my worrisome symptoms are nothing serious, and were probably brought on by….. doing too much too soon. I worked all day Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday of last week, and then went in at noon Thursday and Friday because I was already feeling kind of wiped out. So now I’m working 12-4 the rest of this week.

I really did NOT think I was doing too much!!! I was FINE!!! I actually felt quite well early in the week last week. I’d even been walking a mile and a half most days, and was worried that walking had caused my downturn — but no, the nurse assured me that’s the best thing I could be doing and to keep that up. Which is a relief, as it does make me feel better. So just going back to work full time was overdoing it, apparently. And I have the most sedentary job ever. Luckily I also have an extremely understanding office and this week is Spring Break so all the students are gone anyhow.

Today I’ve felt much better, although– as usual — tired. Actually I felt quite a bit better yesterday – Saturday was my real setback day. By last night I was feeling well enough to be bored, but not well enough to do much about it. Anyhow, the half days should help a lot.

current annoyance
Other than the fact that I’m not completely and totally 100 percent well YET??? I guess it would be that my computer is giving signs of going out. AAGGHH. It has twice cut itself off for no apparent reason, and it’s been getting very hot — as the fan runs continuously. That seems like a bad sign. I’ve backed everything up and am just going to keep using it till it drops dead. I’ll have had it three years soon, so apparently it’s time. I LOVE my computer, and I don’t WANT another one. I also don’t want to have to spend money on another one. Maybe it will hold out awhile longer.

current book
One benefit of this enforced rest is that I’ve been doing a TON of reading. I’ve read the sequels to Wicked — Son of a Witch (didn’t like it much) and A Lion Among Men (LOVED it), I’ve read Little Bee, (really really loved it) ….and then read Three Men on the Bummel which was hysterically funny. I am currently reading both Notes From A Small Island by Bill Bryson and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, finally. Bill Bryson because MargUK just did a Twelve in Twelve entry on it and I thought DAMMIT! Why didn’t I read that before I went to England?!? Because it’s about him traveling all over England right before he moves back to America after living in England for nearly 20 years. But then I realized, duh, I’d probably enjoy it more now after being there and driving all around myself. And I actually did read it, years ago, although oddly I have not remembered ONE thing about it. I’m seriously starting to wonder if I just thought I read it. I have it, I went through a Bill Bryson Phase eight or ten years ago, but maybe I didn’t read it. Who knows! I also like The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo so far.

current tv
We have been watching all the Red Dwarfs over again. And it has been great fun. We’ve seen them all — more than once — but it’s been quite some time and I was surprised at how much I’d forgotten. We’re nearly done, though, and next in the queue is…. the Doctor Who episodes that morphed into Torchwood! We put the Captain Jack Episode into the queue which is the ninth one in the season, but I’m SURE we’ll have to go back and watch the whole thing. We’ve never gotten into Doctor Who — I think we both remember the 60s and 70s versions – so this should be fun.

current outfit
Right now it’s my omnipresent pjs, but at work it was the great LL Bean stretchy pants Noko alerted me to, and a black sweater. Those are fantastic pants– they are stretchy enough to not hurt my stomach (which is STILL SWOLLEN UP AND SORE, yet another irritation) but not too tight and not baggy either. Like yoga pants (which I’ve also been wearing), but more work-friendly. That has made me feel about a million times better, since I do not think anything looks worse on me than elastic waist pants. They always end up baggy and it appears I’ve magically gained 30 pounds. So, happy with my outfit.

current anticipation
My old old friend S who found me on FB a year and a half ago is coming to visit tomorrow, with her sister and her sister’s partner! They’re driving all the way over from Johnson City, and won’t get here till 4 since I need to work till then. They were coming over the weekend but I thought we were going to my MIL’s for the Birthday Bash. Anyhow, I’m really looking forward to the visit.

current worry
Cousin E’s mom, my father’s last sister, (who we take the Delaware Trips to visit) has not been doing well at all. She’s been losing a lot of weight and is now in the hospital with a stomach aneurysm. I am not sure what they’re going to be able to do about it, but it’s very worrisome. Her health hasn’t been good at all. So that’s the big worry right now.

And with that I need to get off the computer. My battery is about to die (another strike against it — the battery life has really shrunk and a new one would cost a fortune) and I also need to go to BED.

Log in to write a note

when my laptop roars and overheats there is a pound of fuzz in the fan area, and i open that area up and clean out the lint and it works fine again..

March 8, 2011

I had to laugh at your “current physical state” description. My mom had her appendix out about 15-20 years ago and was put on disability for, like, 6-8 weeks after the surgery. She thought it was going to be a vacation. She was horrified to realize that the state only gives Disability payments to people who are disabled. Rest up and enjoy your books. After you’ve healed and rejoined the world you’ll wonder why you tried to get back sooner than expected.

March 8, 2011

I was laughing at this because I was doing the exact same thing about ‘Notes On A Small Island’ thinking I definitely read that ……. didn’t I? Can’t remember much about it. Am I confusing it with another one? Hmmm maybe should get it and find out! In fact I’ve decided I’m going to do that with all my Twelve in 12 books this year – pick ones I’ve already read and see how much I remember from the first reading. I suspect very little. Bummer about the setback though – inside healing is very deceptive – you feel fine but don’t realise your body is still doing a mountain of work beavering away in there!

March 8, 2011

For your computer: they sell this plastic holder with a fan which tilts the back of the computer up and circulates the hot air so it doesn’t overheat. I finally got one for my laptop after it died too many times and now it works great. Please take it easy while you’re recuperating. It takes longer than you think, no matter how amazing the body is at healing.

March 8, 2011

take it easy! don’t overdo, you’ll heal faster. i hope my laptops last a long time. take care,

March 8, 2011

i’m still getting used to my new (to me) computer! and missing stuff that was not backed up. i’m glad you are making steady progress but i can imagine that it’s frustrating to not be 100% RIGHT NOW. how wonderful that your office is so understanding.

March 8, 2011

Sorry about the setback! Darn, just darn. And lots of positive feel better vibes from here for both you and Cousin E.’s mom. Bill Bryson is so much fun to read. I’ll have to try that book. I am still listening to his newest At Home. I am unreasonable. I don’t want my current laptop to ever fail. Ever. 90 is impressive as all heck. I hope we are all still at home at 90. The visit sounds fun. Hope you get decent weather for it.

March 8, 2011

Current favorite diary to read: yours. Be well!

March 10, 2011

Hope you are soon back to 100%

March 10, 2011

I KNEW I should have gotten those cookies with the magical healing powers in the mail to you sooner.

March 12, 2011

Rest up.

March 18, 2011

RYN: Certainly we can contribute to legitimate relief funds, but aside from that—unless we happen to be engineers gifted in fixing nuclear reactors—there ISN’T much we can do. Tectonic plates shift, volcanoes erupt, and arrogant humans, who establish infrastructures on fault lines, suffer.

March 18, 2011

It’s never a good idea to love a piece of machinery. It’s your data that matters, not the particular conglomeration of chips and wires that makes it accessible.

March 18, 2011

Oh, I love Bill Bryson, his book about Australia was so funny. I’m sorry you are still not back to good health. They always lie about how long you will take to recover. If they didn’t, no one would show up for their stupid surgeries. RYN: Thank you, friend. You are so special to me. Love,

March 19, 2011

ryn: The new Torchwood is supposed to come out this summer but BBC filmed it in conjunction with Starz so I don’t know what channel it will show on. BTW, do you know when the next season of Dexter starts? Hope you’re mending well and feeling better!

March 19, 2011

You think that your computer is “going out” … do you mean “seeing someone else? … something along those lines?

March 20, 2011

Surgery??? I will have to do some reading back. I could not get into girl with the dragon tatoo. I put Little Bee on my to read list.

March 20, 2011

Thanks for the description of “The Lincoln Option”. My sister was going on about that yesterday. Apparently they feel like those of us that read The Times regularly are the kind of market they want to reach. That is why by just subscribing to the paper edition of the Sunday Times one gets all the benefits behind the pay wall.I just couldn’t stand the idea of not having access when something is going on. It will be interesting to see how this all pans out. We’ll have to get a NYTs outpost on our planet. I wonder if we can get Dexter Filkins to retire there?