I don’t think this is what “no accumulation” looks like

Yeah, we’ve got 3-4 inches of No Accumulation and it’s still coming down. This is the first real snow we’ve had this winter (as opposed to all those fakey poser ones.. actually, it’s been suspiciously temperate until now) so I shouldn’t whine, but of course I am going to whine and complain and bitch because, wwwaaaahhhh!!! I hate cold weather!!! I hate winter!!! I want it to be July year round and it’s July here for about ten minutes!!!

Amusingly, I notice that my last OD entries before it died its temporary death were about snow and cold weather and how much I hate them.

I especially should not whine today because I had already decided to stay home from work and have a little mental health day. We’ve been very very busy, and I am finally caught up to the point that a day off will do me more good than harm. And it’s finals week so we won’t have too many students calling or coming by our office. So Mr. Organized and Miss Tattoo won’t have to suffer because I’m a delicate flower who needs a day off. Hopefully after the Christmas break we will have a replacement for Aggravation Receptionist, but a much improved one because they will also be the Dean’s assistant and they will be sitting way far away from my office (as opposed to right in front of my door in a gargantuan desk I practically have to climb over to get in and out) and the office pathways will be re-routed so all visitors will come into a door way far away from us and they will answer the calls as well, AND we may even get a grad student to cover lunches. We may never have to answer the phones again!!! Or at least it will be a rare and not so crazy-making event.

Ha, just found out campus is closing, and finals are now cancelled for the rest of the day, so yay – really don’t have to feel guilty now.  This is quite an odd snow in that we don’t usually get significant amounts that are a total surprise. Yesterday the forecast was saying a little snow and possible ice late in the day Friday, but no accumulation. Instead the ground was covered at 7 and it’s still pouring down. So there were a lot of wrecks this morning apparently, as the salt trucks didn’t make their rounds last night. Baker B is still on campus and coming home shortly, so I hope he’ll be okay, but he is driving our 19 year old Civic which has snow tires and has never failed us.

Let’s try pictures — I wonder if I can make them larger than last entry??

Apparently not —- has anyone had success with larger pictures? I don’t see any choices for changing size.

Log in to write a note
December 8, 2017

Wow, you did get more than “no accumulation!!” I love the winter weather reports here in MN!! 1-3 ends up 6-8, and 6-8 ends up as 1-3!!!!!!!!! LMBO!! I loathe driving the roads in this stuff, but, what can one do? Glad you could take a nice MHD!!! ~~L

December 9, 2017

Usually they don’t get it QUITE this wrong here! They also completely missed a serious storm a couple of months ago that ended up with the worst flooding I’ve ever seen here. I hope this isn’t a bad sign!

December 8, 2017

Great idea to have no work when there is so much no accumulation 🙂 Nice pics.

December 9, 2017

Thanks! Yes, it was a huge relief to stay home. We live up several steep hills on twisty windy roads and the older I get, the more it terrifies me. And I hate sitting at work staring out the window at the snow, wondering, “should I leave?!? Should I leave NOW?? Is everyone going to think I’m a total wimp? Do I even CARE??!!??”

December 8, 2017

Gorgeous pictures! I used to know how to change picture size from the figures in the image’s ‘image info’. Not quite sure how I got there. Just keep the ratio the same between height and width.

December 9, 2017

I’ve changed picture size in other places, but I can’t even see any option for doing that here. But, it may be something that will be available down the road. I do really like the one huge one you get at the beginning!

*tx
December 14, 2017

Your snow pictures are very pretty.