ring ring! ring ring! ring ring! ring ring!

I have no idea where I got this, but it’s a cell phone survey. I’m doing it in honor of… well, Friday, I suppose. And the fact that my work phone has done very little ringing this afternoon. And Insane Boss is gone for the day and K is gone for the day and my student worker is gone for the day, and …. just because I can!

Go Grab your phone!

a. Did you grab it? I didn’t grab it exactly, but I carefully extracted it from my Bag O’Junk. I try to be kind to my cellphone. I like it and I don’t want to have to buy another one. Well, unless it’s one of those nifty iPhones, but there’s not much danger of that happening in this lifetime.

1. What color? What color what?? And why was the first question "a’ and this one is "1"? And why did you feel it necessary to capitalize "grab" up there in the first sentence?

My phone is silver and black. If that’s what you’re asking.

2. Who’s the first person who comes up under the letter M? Mama. Which means my parents’ home phone.

3. Who’s the last person you called? Baker B at work.  

4. Who was your last missed call from? I hate to sound like a Techo!Idiot, but I don’t see any obvious way to tell who my last missed call was from. I’ve got received and dialed, and that’s it as far as I can tell. It was probably last week when I was at a meeting and had my phone in my pocket set on vibrate, and the Honda place called. I didn’t even feel it vibrate – I thought my stomach was growling.  

5. Who’s the 2nd person to come up under the letter D? Dr. Freeman. I have a whole string of doctors under D!! That’s what you have to look forward to with age and health issues, kiddies!

6. Who’s speed dial 2? Well, I have no idea. I know when I save contacts it puts them under a speed dial number — but I have no idea how to either speed dial OR check who is where on speed dial. You may get the idea I don’t use my cell a lot. You’d be right.

Oh, okay, if you look at the details under each contact, it will tell you what number they are. For example, Blue Ridge Vet is 8. Baker B at work is 4. I have no idea how to tell who is 1 without scrolling through everyone, and guess what! I’m not doing that!

7. Who’s the 3rd person who comes up under J? My Cousin J.

8. Who was your last received call from? Well I would have sworn Kim, but it was actually my father – and it of course says "Mama" since it’s from their phone. He called me Tuesday night at 10 to let me know they were coming up Wednesday morning. And called my cell because I was on the computer. Or somebody was. He expressed enormous surprise and delight at being able to reach me on the cellphone, and brought it up several times the next day. Despite the fact that I’ve told both of them many, many times to try my cell if the land line is busy (I did not of course refer to it as a "land line", but as the "phone") but apparently that’s never sunk in.

9. Who’s speed dial number 4? I started to say "See Question #2", but in seeing Question #2 myself, I see I’ve already answered this by accident. Baker B’s work number.

10. What is your background? Well, I’ve done all sorts of things. I’ve worked in offices for years, but also have lots of restaurant experience I’d really rather forget. I’ve also… OH, my CELL background! My wallpaper!!  That’s kind of cool, actually. It’s a picture I took with my cell in Las Vegas – Caesar’s Palace and the Eiffel Tower, and something else I’m not sure what it is. I’m not sure where I took it either, although it was out a window because there’s also a reflection of other buildings. It’s a kind of cool picture, especially for a cell phone. 

11. How many text messages are currently in your inbox? Well, I have two things in my outbox. Both are pictures I sent to Baker B when I got to Charleston on my second trip. He’d left the internet on and I couldn’t get hold of him when I got there and I STILL couldn’t get  him at 8:30 that night, so I took a picture of my beer and emailed it to one address and took a picture out the window of East Bay Street and emailed it to his other address. And decided to quit worrying about it. If he ever started wondering whether I made it or was dead on the highway, maybe he’d eventually figure out the internet was still on and disconnect it.

I’ve just realized this said "inbox", not "outbox". Oh well, whatever.

12. Who’s speed dial #1? Dude, I DON’T KNOW!!!!

13. What’s the 5th message say in your inbox? I have no idea how to send or receive text messages, so I have none. Unless the photos count. The one out the window says "Made it, Busy-Phone-Boy!" and the one with the beer says "HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!"

14. Who’s the 1st person who comes up under B? Becky. SIL.

15. Who was your last text message from? I’ve never gotten one!! Oh, wait, that’s a lie – I have gotten one, and that was when I was trying to get tickets to Tom Waits last summer. You could sign up to get a text message when they went on sale, so I did. That was my first and last text message. I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with my phone when I got it – it was making this really weird sound. That turned out to be the Text Message Alert. 

16. Name every person you have text messaged ever? Does no one use their phone for, oh, PHONE CALLS?? I’ve never txt msgd anyone. Except for pictures and I don’t guess that counts because I’m emailing them, not text messaging. And why is there a question mark on that command?

18. Who’s the 9th person on your missed calls? Okay, this survey is officially getting boring. I DON’T KNOW.

19. What does the 6th message in your Outbox say? I only have two and I already related what they said. Although they were emailed pictures. YAAAAAAWN.

20. Who is the first name in your Phonebook? Baker B’s place of employment, which starts with "A".

21. Who is the last person? Yellow Cab of Charleston. We called so many cabs that first trip when the car died that I just put them in the directory.

23. Who is the last person under G?  Why, I have no G’s in my directory.

24. What does your first text message say? I HAVE NO TEXT MESSAGES!!!! PLEASE SHUT UP ABOUT TEXT MESSAGES!!!!

25. What’s your main ring tone? Finally an interesting question! Because I gave up on this stupid text message and phone book obsessed survey!!! My main ring tone is Tom Waits, singing Tom Traubert’s Blues. It’s lots of fun – every time my phone rings I get to hear my hero wailing "WALTZING MATILDA, WALTZING MATILDA…" And see everyone around me have a stroke.It was SO worth $6.  

26. How many pictures do you have on your phone, Beth? Since you are asking yourself these questions, having given up on the idiotic boring original survey! Why, what a good question, Beth! Good lord, I have 60 pictures on my phone – how did that happen??? Some of them appear to be pictures of nothing, too. I think I need to weed out my pictures.

27. What’s your oldest picture? Looks like it’s from August 2005, which would be right after I got the phone. It’s… (sniff) Stella, lying on the lounge chair looking all cute…. WWAAAAHHHHH!!!! I want Stella back!!!! Kim told me last night that she’s trying to make friends with Kim’s cat now. She’s going to decide she’d rather live THERE if I don’t get her back!!! The house guys will probably be working at least a few more days next week and my car won’t be fixed till Monday or Tuesday… WAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

28. Wow. Get a grip. What’s your most recent picture? WELL, it would be the picture of my pint of beer at the Shiny Thing Place, aka the Southend Brewery, that I emailed Baker B a few weeks ago. Unless you count the TEN pictures that are just grey blurs that I took the next day – June 18. What was I doing?? I have a very vague memory of accidentally hitting the camera button while I was trying to do something else important – like drive, probably. Maybe I should delete those. 

 

Okay, fun as that was, I REALLY need to get back to work now. Happy Friday!

Log in to write a note
July 6, 2007

ryn: yes, i agree, Calico’s really are sweet. Nina has always been gentle or has run away from kids. does Stella greet you when you come home? does Stella purr? i have never heard Nina purr or even felt it. odd huh? Nina was already about 3 or so when she was found and then given to me. i always thought all cats purred. once i might have detected a reverberating, but very faintly. don’t you begin your new job soon? have a good week-end.

July 6, 2007

I dnt txt msg ethr. And I have no idea how to speed dial. I barely can take a photo with my phone and I really don’t know how to send those photos. But I have a very cute photo of my queenie diva hound as wallpaper.

July 6, 2007

I’ve never even used a cell phone, let alone own one.

i keep setting my cell phone down and forgetting where i set it. lol. i dont take pics with it. i try not to use it at all, but i do like the phone alarm that gets me up at different times on different days with out a major hassle!

July 6, 2007

You are so funny. “Okay, so this is officially boring!” Well, it would have been if you hadn’t taken a different tack with it! Even the sad parts like your Stella living with your friend.

July 10, 2007

Count me in as one who hasn’t a clue about speed dial. Texting has its place, don’t do it often but appreciate the option. My wallpaper is a lava lamp! Happy Tuesday!

July 10, 2007

How did I miss this entry? I have no background (well I do but it came with the phone) or camera on my phone. This is a very sad story. I would not know how to text if my life depended on it but maybe I should learn? Your background sounds very cool.

July 11, 2007

I love it when you correct people. They were a little obsessed, weren’t they? Be well…..

September 25, 2007

Obviously I’m out of practice reading your entries. I took a drink of my coffee, and well, it’s self-explanatory what happened there. sigh.