boone road

Since I was young, I had an awareness of how the country, nature, fills me with life.  My mind starts clearing, thoughts become lucid and beautifully supple.   I can think beyond the next step.  And that is so, so refreshing.

It’s funny because I don’t fit in here.  Though I fit in very few places, it is very evident that I don’t fit in here.  Each social interaction leaves me uncomfortable, like itchy but on the inside.    

I’m distinctly aware of the fact that I’m intimidating.  And, though I don’t  mean to be, it serves me.  I get looked at but never approached, like your grandmother‘s favorite porcelain doll.  I get distance, glorious open distance.  I have carved out a small circle here, boundary lines for privacy and sanity.  And my lungs open, my mind quiets, and all that’s left is the sound of the wet earth sinking a little under each step.

There’s something about the air here.  All of it really– the air, the dirt, the wind.  It all has a kind of lazy electricity about it.  And I feel at ease here.  My delicate balance is easy to maintain.  I find secret pockets of time, fill them with the sound of this ranch, the animals and the sunshine and the steady flow of the creek.  

I feel like writing, like playing, like running until my body burns and shines and cries out.
.  
Arriving here, it was pelting rain, pouring down from the dark skies.  Then, as I was leaving the train station, the sky started to fill with bursts of light.  Tree outlines, green meadows of grass, even the color of the sky light up for a split second then sank back, blurred by the water and the darkness.   

That lightning storm brought me to life.  And here I am, sustained.  

Log in to write a note
February 19, 2008

You remind.

September 13, 2009

sounds like west virginia, or the woods of northern california in the fall. and like childhood on the last few days of spring.