New Year’s Eve

Let’s recap all of the major events of 2011, the most major-event-filled year of my life thus far.

  • My nephew, Kentaro was born!
  • I started taking photography more seriously.
  • I gave a concerto recital. It went really well. In fact, it is one of the pieces my fingers are still comfortable playing.
  • A huge earthquake hit Japan, just off the coast near where my brother (and his wife & my new nephew) live. Everyone is safe but it was a hard few days… especially when we spent an hour and a half talking about it in my next class (Earthquakes and Natural Disasters) and everyone laughed about it.
  • I learned how to waltz & foxtrot at my uncle’s birthday party, and my father and I were partners. Someone said, “You know, the next time the two of you dance together, it will be at your wedding.”
  • I took some pictures for a couple friends in the music school that were met with rave reviews from faculty around the school.
  • I gave my senior recital and it was wonderful and everyone was so supportive — and I passed!
  • Ryan and I signed the lease on our first place together.
  • Ryan and I went to California to visit Tom & Logan. The weekend before finals, we weren’t studying, but hanging out in San Francisco with our favorite people in the world.
  • I graduated from college!
  • I moved home for a month where I got paid to play piano. While I was there, my car got totaled & I had a wedding shower.
  • In July, I turned 22, celebrated the 4th of July, got the keys to our new apartment, saw the midnight premiere of Harry Potter 7:2, celebrated Ryan’s 23rd birthday, had a bachelorette party where I got REALLY drunk, moved into our new apartment (the day after said bachelorette party, so I was really hungover), had a dinner date with Matt & Kristee, dealt with a flower-near-disaster, picked up my dress, picked up Tom & Logan, met Brittany(!!!), and GOT MARRIED(!!!!!).
  • Went on our honeymoon and spent 7 blissful days soaking up the Caribbean sun.
  • Started teaching 30 children, a huge increase from last year’s 10.
  • Launched Laura King Photography.
  • We watched all of The Big Bang Theory and Inuyasha and Psych and Reaper and a couple other shows. We are really good at staying up really late to catch up on shows we find out about long after they’ve begun (or ended).
  • We house sat for Ryan’s parents, which means somehow we went about a month without buying groceries. It was awesome.
  • I shot 2 boudoir sessions and decided I absolutely love it.
  • Logan decided to leave Apple and take a job in Portland. Now we are thinking about moving there, too.
  • We put up our tree in our first apartment together to celebrate our first Christmas together.
  • I spend every single day thinking about just how incredibly lucky and happy and blessed I am to be living the life I am living. We may not have a lot of money, but we are happier than anyone else we know.

This year has been absolutely perfect, and I am so beyond excited to see where we will be in another year.

Have a wonderful, happy, safe evening, and I wish you all of the absolute best in the coming year.

Log in to write a note

First! Love you, Spoon.

January 1, 2012

🙂

January 1, 2012

🙂

January 1, 2012

🙂

January 1, 2012

Happy 2012 🙂 ~

January 1, 2012

Happy 2012 🙂 ~

January 1, 2012

Happy 2012 🙂 ~

January 2, 2012

!!! Love that. 🙂 I hope your 2012 is even more wonderful than 2011 was!

January 2, 2012

!!! Love that. 🙂 I hope your 2012 is even more wonderful than 2011 was!

January 2, 2012

!!! Love that. 🙂 I hope your 2012 is even more wonderful than 2011 was!

You know, back when you started posting your gorgeous shots more & more often, I just knew you’d take it places—& here you are, OWNING YOUR OWN BUSINESS, capturing the world ♥ You are lucky & blessed & right where you should be, sunshine. Love you, LOVE YOU!

You know, back when you started posting your gorgeous shots more & more often, I just knew you’d take it places—& here you are, OWNING YOUR OWN BUSINESS, capturing the world ♥ You are lucky & blessed & right where you should be, sunshine. Love you, LOVE YOU!

You know, back when you started posting your gorgeous shots more & more often, I just knew you’d take it places—& here you are, OWNING YOUR OWN BUSINESS, capturing the world ♥ You are lucky & blessed & right where you should be, sunshine. Love you, LOVE YOU!

January 6, 2012

ryn// I think that’s my issue. I write “consistently” (like, once every two weeks) but if I wrote more, it wouldn’t be so hard to begin. Sigh.

January 6, 2012

ryn// I think that’s my issue. I write “consistently” (like, once every two weeks) but if I wrote more, it wouldn’t be so hard to begin. Sigh.

January 6, 2012

ryn// I think that’s my issue. I write “consistently” (like, once every two weeks) but if I wrote more, it wouldn’t be so hard to begin. Sigh.