What’s in my bag

I got several new purses from my mother-in-law this week, so I went through all my old purses & got rid of several I don’t use anymore. She buys really nice leather bags, so I have 10 gorgeous, adult purses in my wardrobe that were once hers. Getting rid of the crappy, tiny, Walmart purses I bought in high school felt really good.

While I was playing with them all, I figured I’d take a picture of what I put in them.


My ipad isn’t always in there, but I try to take it to work with me most of the time. I have a couple music theory games that the kids always love playing. It also reads pdfs, so I can download pretty much any classical score from http://www.imslp.org and have it with me anywhere. It’s magical.


My kindle was a Christmas present from my in-laws (before they were my in-laws), and I thought I didn’t want it at first. But just like I don’t want to carry around a bookshelf worth of scores all the time, I also don’t want to carry around all of my books. I read books so quickly that I usually take 3 or 4 600+ page books on a vacation with me. Now I always have a book with me, but it never weighs more than a pound.


My wallet, of course. I bought this one at Target 3 or 4 years ago. License, credit card, debit card, 3 Spoons punch card (I have a free one next time we’re in!), Goodcents punch card, business cards, and a little cash.


Ryan’s grandma got him an RFID-proof wallet for Christmas. He doesn’t use it, though, so it’s now home to all of my gift cards (my mom always gives a couple hundred dollars worth of them for Christmas). I think we have $25 to Longhorn in there right now, so maybe we’ll have a date night soon.


The Canon S95 is the point and shoot I’ve been using for the last several years. It was way too expensive, but it has fully manual mode and that is priceless to me. I don’t usually use it on a point and shoot, but on the occasion that I do want it, it drives me CRAZY to not have it. Plus it’s tiny, and not obnoxious looking.


Of course, the ubiquitous iphone. Ryan works as an iOS advisor for Apple, so at least I have an excuse, right?


I only recently started carrying around a makeup bag. I actually took it out of my purse one day last week because I rarely use it, but of course that was the one day I broke a nail and actually needed the file I keep in there. There’s a small mirror, a cuticle pusher, and a nail file; several lip things (NYX lipgloss in Lala, Revlon Just Bitten balm stain in Romantic, CO Bigelow’s My Favorite Lipbalm [actually not crazy about this, it’s too thin and doesn’t last long enough for me], a discontinued Neutrogena lipstick that is the absolute best shade for me ever ever and I’m pissed it doesn’t exist anymore, CO Bigelow’s night balm [which is amazing], and a Burt’s Bees lip balm); Burt’s Bees cuticle cream, which is 90% of the reason I was finally able to start growing my nails; and then the only real “makeup” items in here, a 3-pan Wet n Wild palette (their eyeshadows are actually incredibly good quality) and a travel-sized Bobbie Brown mascara (thanks Sephora beauty insider points!).

I’m interested to see how different this is 5 years from now, and I wish I had one from 5 years ago! Considering these electronics didn’t exist 5 years ago, I can’t wait to see what doesn’t exist now that will be commonplace in my purse in the future.

Log in to write a note

HOW DID I MISS THIS?! I used to keep that amazing cuticle balm at work with me, but without fail, it would goop up my fingertips and get all over the keys.