Reality can be beaten with enough imagination

We can evade reality, but we cannot evade the consequences of evading reality.

Ayn Rand

I met with my head doctor today. It is becoming clearer that it is not serving me any longer to keep up the same old narrative about me being socially avoidant. I am lonely and isolated. As unlikely as I think it is that I will meet a partner or friends who will be soul mates, it is still worth trying to make some sort of connection with people. I have to leave the safety of my four walls. It will be difficult for me to meet like minded people but not impossible.

True realism consists in revealing the surprising things which habit keeps covered and prevents us from seeing.

John Cocteau

If I start to look in new places, I may just find a gem.

Log in to write a note

Saw you on the front page. Am interested to hear how your CBT goes as you work on this if it’s something you will be writing about.

September 26, 2006

i love john cocteau!!! I also saw you on the front page, I will read more after class, (gotta go to class!) hav a nice day

September 26, 2006

*Jean Cocteau ;P

September 26, 2006

Hey i thnk your really cool you should come by my site! Peace out yo

September 26, 2006

you really should try to get out there. there are ppl like yourself in this world – it’s only by trying that you can get there. i’ve been lonely, depressed and socially avoidant before. but you just keep trying and you cling to whatever hope you find and in time it blossoms. in time you do find what you want and what you need and people willing, happy and wanting to give it to you too.

September 26, 2006

when i was in Australia – lived in Melbourne for a while – I found the place suffocating, but only in this very subtle manner. It’s a country with good things to offer – very good scenery, fine entertainment/arts/culture, reasonably sane people who seem fairly polite and accepting. Underneath it all, though, I found most of the people conservative and just a little bit judgamental…

September 26, 2006

..that is, if you’re a truly daring and open-minded person, it could be hard to meet like-minded people who you could be real open to, who could even see who you are. it’s just my impression and it’s by no means a ‘judgement’ on your situation, though I’m sure you know your passion in life – literature, arts, culture…etc. – so well that you deserve to be around people who could inspire you.