This Hurts

Yesterday I had gone to this small little get together where my friend asked me to come over and help her babysit two kids. I am fully aware about covid which is why her and I were both wearing our masks and doing our best at social distancing with the kids while we were in the pool with them. The adults were in the back drinking while we were with kids. At some point during the day my “best friend” wanted to know how many people were there, i said about 10-15 but they were coming and going. I know this exceeds the amount of people that should be near one another but I did really go near any of them and if they were sick they would have stayed home to protect everyone else. He then says “you’re a total dumbass, a retard for going and that im killing thousands of people, I hope you dont come to my house after” I really like him like I really do and hearing him say that im a killer and calling me other names really really hurts. He hasnt talked to me at all Im not sure if he ever will.

I know the risk of going out in a time like this, his father is older and is at risk, but so is my mom, my mother is a diabetic and shes at risk to, if she thought it was super dangerous for me to go out then she would let me go out at all. She is the one who tells me that its okay for me to hang out with a few friends cause she knows im responsible about it. So believe me, I know the risks.

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2020

Someone who is your best friend would not talk down to you like that. They might express that they are disappointed, but to deliberately call you names and insult your character is just plain nasty. There is a better way to communicate feelings. This person owes you a big apology. I think it’s very nice of you to babysit for your friend, however I do agree that unless you can guarantee that all of your guests have been staying home, it’s irresponsible to have a get together during this time. You can’t  guarantee where people have been and who they have been with. I think in this situation it was at your own risk that you decided to do this, but that does not make you a horrible person.  I work as a flight attendant and I live with someone who has severe asthma, so I make sure to keep my mask on from the time I leave the house til I get back because I’m putting them at risk every day. But even that mask doesn’t fully protect, it just limits the chances. Anyway, you should talk to your friend or send them a letter telling them how they hurt you. I’ve been in this situation before so I know the feeling. It sucks when someone you care about says such hurtful things to you. You don’t deserve that and if they don’t come around then they don’t deserve to have you in their life.

July 21, 2020

@hannah_banana0012  The day after this happened I texted him if we can talk, he said he didn’t feel like there was a need to talk about what happend and that he said what he needed to. He then proceeds to tell me that he told his dad that shouldn’t come over for a while. Its very difficult cause I am also best friends with his sister, it just hurts so bad.

August 2, 2020

@feels8778 If this person truly cared about you they wouldn’t handle things that way and they wouldn’t want to hurt you. The adult thing to do is have an actual conversation, be a good friend and listen. I’m sorry, but you have a crappy friend And deserve better.