Outbreak

There’s one on a floor at the hospital I work at… Just recently got publicized on the news. It’s interesting how mainstream media is trying to get the community more aware of outbreaks now. One would question how necessary it is, as all it mostly does is invoke fear into people especially when those same people walk on egg shells around you/treat you differently because you work at a hospital.

I’ve observed and grouped together three different types of people:

– the anxious and cautious: unstandably scared and will do the absolute most.

– the ignorant and reckless: don’t believe in the virus at all and call anyone who wears a mask a sheep (obviously don’t wear masks themselves). Usually plays the victim card in nonsensical online arguments.

– the concerned yet indifferent: most healthcare workers I know fall into this category, myself included. We are at the center of where most severe cases are treated. We wear the PPE and try out best to take all precautions necessary not to catch the damn bug but sometimes that shit just might happen.

At some point you have to come to terms that you might end up getting covid. Other than being scared, try to plan your next steps before it (hopefully never) happens. If you do end up having it, I can empathize that the feeling of knowing you have it fucking sucks. It can happen to anyone. Keep track of your symptoms as much as possible.

I had it in May and I admit I was so scared, not for myself as my case was mild but, for my parents who are in their mid to late 60s. Luckily they didn’t catch it, however I still am concerned going forward. Maybe I’ll write about my experience with covid another time.

But frustrated rant over. For now.

 

Log in to write a note
October 23, 2020

This is intersting, I like your take on things. I had Covid before they had tests to see if I had Covid..March 10th. I am greatful for the doctors who even back then, knew what to prescribe me. Stay safe, and if you catch it, stay hydrated 🙂

Jeez, that must be very frustrating…

November 7, 2020

I don’t understand the people who are reckless. I feel like they are the reason why covid keeps spreading. I just don’t get ignorant people. It’s so disrespectful to those on the front line like you. I don’t work in a hospital but I am a flight attendant and the airplanes are pretty full. I’m always worried about catching it as well. So far so good.🤞🏻Thank you for what you do and also welcome to opendiary! I’ve been a member since 2002.