Wishing I had a suppotive mother.

I’m watching Kim Kardashians wedding story…I KNOW. Ridiculous. But I am so incredibly jealous of their family bond..I think that is what draws people to them.

My mom still refuses to meet Doug, and infact she sent me ANOTHER email recently that she will NEVER approve of this relationship.(Because of our age difference) I understand where she is coming from. I really do! I mean if she doesnt approve THAT I can handle. BUT the fact that every time I mention him she changes the subject. …and she refuses to meet him and she has NO interest in that part of my life. I just WISH I had a close family…that maybe you dont love the idea of me and my boyfriend, but I still want to have a close relationship with my family. It makes me very sad.

Lately I feel like I cant please her. She wants me to go to another airline, which is something I have NO desire to do right now. I really am comfortable where I am and if I leave this airline the last thing I want to do is cut my pay IN HALF. Its just so frustrating. Now I am saving up to buy a house and stuff…I would have to literally start OVER if I went to another airline.

So…on a more positive note, Doug and I have been doing REALLY great. He finished his masters degree and things have been amazing. I am just on cloud nine. SO happy.

So, last night I came over after a long day of work. I worked from 730am to 830pm. Then drove to Doug’s and hour and a half away. He had a bubble bath poured, and candles, and wine…and he went and watched a movie and let me unwind for a while. Then he gave me a massage because my back has been hurting really bad lately.

It was just really really sweet. I cant express how lucky I feel. I just never thought I’d find someone who is so great to me.

Log in to write a note
October 11, 2011

my mother never approved of my girlfriend until i married her. even then, it was a little while before things got good between them. really, the obvious answer to your mother is “if you don’t like him, then don’t date him.” he’s your choice, not hers, and from you wrote, it seems like he’s a catch. does she want you to marry a young guy who isn’t as together? and possibly be miserable?

October 12, 2011

Parents can be tricky, but this can fall into two categories. The first of which being that from what I can gather from your previous entries. Your parents are no longer together, sometimes it can be hard for them to then accept that love exists and they can push that onto their kids. The other category is that it still is not real enough for her yet. You are her baby and you are growing up.

October 12, 2011

That type of thing is never easy to accept, some will support you, but some will find it difficult to be supportive until it takes on that feel of realism, so that they know everything will be ok. Take it from somebody who lost every parental figure in their life, before they found true love and happiness. I’d much rather have the difficult kind than none at all.

October 12, 2011

Awe that is so sweet!

October 20, 2011

Your mom is being really foolish and immature about you dating Doug.