And then there was one…

No I’m not referring to the number of OD users not to have crossed over to Prose whatever it’s called 😛

My regular readers know this, but to recap: 3 years ago I started working in this Finance Dept and it consisted of 1 Comptroller, 1 Senior Accountant, and 3 staff accountants (including yours truly). We were quite the dream team and easily got the work done. Most of this past year we’ve managed the 2 hospitals’ finances with a skeleton crew of 1 Comptroller, 1 Senior Accountant, and 1 staff accountant (yours truly)

A couple weeks ago the Senior Accountant left. The Comptroller and I were set to face the most challenging task of our careers, and manage the 2 hospitals’ finances ourselves

And I’ve been trying to figure out what my personal next step should be. My wife is pregnant and literally about to pop. I mean the baby was so low this morning, I’m 99.9% sure tomorrow she’ll be in labor. So accepting this challenge, and potentially claiming this Senior Accountant vacancy may be overwhelming for me since I constantly battle high blood pressure and my focused priority will be the newborn son since I’ve never had kids before

I knew there was a lesson to be learned in this. There’s always a lesson in hardships because God’s timing is perfect! Lately I’ve felt what was meant for me to do was to continue at a staff accountant position and focus my energy on my son. Later maybe these higher positions will be available and I can grab one at that time. But for my personal health (both physically and mentally) I shouldn’t overwhelm myself at this moment

Then last week, the Comptroller announced he has also resigned and gave his one month’s notice

So I was wrong. I picked the wrong horse. That was not the lesson I was to learn. This time next month it may just be me holding down the fort for two hospitals. I won’t be able to continue coasting in my career in a position that’s just real easy to me now. Nope, have to man up both at home and in the office too. I needed this kick in the pants to get me to

The CFO may bring a couple people from his past to interim at the moment, but right now it looks like I’m going to be trained to take the reins. My boss (soon-to-be former boss) told me it won’t be like going from 1 to 10 in an instant, they’ll gradually increase what I do until I get it all

And presumably (and hopefully) they’ll fill these empty offices with staff accountants in the process too

moral of the story: Forget compensating me just for the new responsibilities and tasks I’ll be handed, you think it’ll be easy to convince a new dad to work 12 hour days away from his son? Show me the money! ðŸ˜›

Have a Nice Day!

Log in to write a note