Shoes to fill

I’ve been acting Senior Accountant for about 4 work days now. And I don’t like it. I don’t think it fits my personality, or deficiencies. However you may want to look at it, haha. I mean at work I’m introverted, or OCD. Probably a combination of both. I don’t go to work to socialize, I just work for money. And when I’m doing my assigned work, I don’t like these excess phone calls or emails asking for help on other things. I want to focus on my own damn thing!

I actually hate phone calls period. I think I have social anxiety to that level. See? Add that with being introverted and maybe OCD, you get deficiencies! I’m quite social, very popular and fit in everywhere I go. But phone calls, I hate them. I’m immediately angered when I hear it ring, and I dread making them. I don’t know why, I just don’t do it. I’ll talk your ear off in person, or text all the time. But don’t call me unless it’s an emergency, that’s what I’ve always told my friends, haha

And if you know accounting, you know it’s all numbers and making them match. But in the business world, it’s also making them look as good as possible. Point is: It’s frustrating. These numbers aren’t random, they have to mean something. You have to show they mean something and provide all backup necessary to make your number undisputable. So it gets you OCD, and when your train of thought is on its way to the treasured goal, damn the person who calls or emails to interrupt it!

As for doing my ‘assigned work’, I don’t have an ‘assigned role’. We used to. 1 Comptroller, 1 Senior Accountant, and 3 accountants. Now it’s 1 Comptroller, and me. We haven’t figured out what to split and who gets it. We’re just completing whatever reports we can and grab ahold of another when that one’s through. I’d probably like this role better if there was an assigned, definitive role and routine

My wife asked me last night if I’m going to push for that position. I told her I don’t know. I’m intrigued by it to pad my ego, and resumee, and presumably my wallet. But given I’m already pretty exhausted with my current workload, and I have to adjust balancing that with the exhaustion of my first newborn coming soon, it may be the wrong time to take on that task

moral of the story: Do your job and demand compensation – in that order. Maybe my job first is Dad and husband. Later I’ll demand compensation (title and raise) to better provide for my wife and child

Have a Nice Day!

Log in to write a note