To Santa or not to Santa…

Christmas is my favorite holiday of the year! Second favorite being my birthday 😛 This holiday is extra special because each day now is the potential excitement that our baby boy comes into the world! We’ve prepared well, we have all the nursery built, his play areas set up, the stroller and car seat set up. And to be extra cautious, we already wrapped all our Xmas gifts for everyone and have them under our tree

My wife already got her gift. It’s a real fancy Nikon camera. An essential item for moms, haha. So she could take a million pictures of our son, and they’ll look great! She’s already opened it, so that we could master how to use it and how to edit pics on the laptop. This way when he does arrive, we’ll be ready for the pics!

I already got my gift too. It’s some canvas prints of some of my fav comic characters (Deadpool/Psylocke, Wolverine/Hulk) to complete my superhero wall in my mancave. Ever wonder why guys need man caves? This is what this man does in his man cave:
 

Anyways, so with this being the holiday season my wife and I have been talking about how this time of year will be like in future years with our son. And I told her I don’t know if I want to go the Santa route with him

I cannot lie. Actually I can and have, but mostly small things. "Yes I did all my chores", "I don’t have time to stop by the store on my way home", "No I’m not going to McDonald’s for lunch to cheat on my diet", "I don’t feel well, I think I’ll stay home rather than go with you to hang out with your parents. It has nothing to do with the football game on tv"

But still, I don’t like lying. And those things are smaller in proportion to eventually saying to your son, "You know all those years I’ve told you about Santa and his naughty/nice list, and other kids bullied you at school? But I told you not to listen to them because he is real and if you don’t believe in him you won’t make the nice list? I lied, the other kids were right. There’s no Santa and it was funny seeing you talk about him like he was real"

I don’t like the idea of that talk. Plus I didn’t like finding it out myself growing up. I was mad at my parents, couldn’t look at them in their face at first. And I found out on my own, they didn’t tell me themselves. I did my own experiment, wrote two letters to Santa. One I gave to them to "mail", listing something I liked but didn’t really want. Then wrote one for myself to keep knowing it was what I really wanted. Man I was a smart kid 😛

But I know the other argument. Adds to the magic of Xmas if the kid believes in Santa Claus. But I’ve known people who were never taught Santa, and it was still as magical of a holiday to them. I love the shopping for others and wrapping their gifts, even more so than actually receiving what other people get me.

 Luckily my wife agrees with me too, so it’s not like a one-sided deal where it has to go the other’s way. We both say we’ll play it by ear and when the time comes we’ll see what our gut feelings say we should do. I mean supposedly our viewpoints on lots of things will change once our baby boy is here in our arms

moral of the story: I want to play ‘Secret Santa’ with the in-laws… and visit them only once a year 😛

Have a Nice Day!

Log in to write a note