Reason #112 why Facebook makes me crazy.

 When I was 15 years old, in the middle of my freshman year of high school, I moved to a small town in Appalachia. 
It’s a hot mess, honestly. High high school dropout rate, high teen pregnancy rate, not many opportunities to earn a living, lots of meth labs. That being said, it is a breathtakingly beautiful part of the country, where the leaves change colors in the fall and the fog hangs over the mountains. People stay there for generations, because it’s beautiful, because it’s where their families are. I made lifelong friends in high school. There’s this strange small liberal arts college there, mostly filled with white, upper middle class clueless spoiled brats – it’s where I got my bachelor’s degree. A number of my college classmates settled in the area, and it seems like at least once a week I find them posting something on Facebook making fun of how the residents dress or talk or procreate, and it makes me furious.

I chose not to live there, for a variety of reasons. I visit, on occasion, and I’m always surprised at how warmly it envelopes me, how natural it feels to be back in those hills and winding roads, and how glad everyone is to see me. I don’t know what home is, I’ve moved so much, but I spent eight years of my life in that community, and these are good people. Weird and obnoxious at times, but still, good people. And it is NOT okay for clueless spoiled brats to mock  them. They speak a different dialect of English….they don’t wear fancy clothes. So what? I’ve certainly felt more respected and cared for by the local residents than by my college classmates.

Log in to write a note
August 20, 2013

I actually don’t understand when people put down their immediate neighbourhood. My brother does that with the heart of Ipswich – which is the city we live in. My brother and I live in a more upper class side of Ipswich, but at one stage my sister lived in the heart of Ipswich. And my brother would simply NOT stop putting down that part of the city. Much to my sister’s annoyance. And to all of us -because we’re not from an upper class side of town AT ALL. We grew up in a really dodgy low-class suburb in Brisbane (capital city). My parents still live there. So we HATE that my brother can act like he is all UP THERE, when he totally isn’t. And I just don’t get it. I think that it’s a form of … insecurity that comes through from those people. Like they are embarrassed that they are in that town to begin with, so they have to make fun of it to feel better.

August 21, 2013

Ryn: I AM SO HAPPY!!!

August 21, 2013

The biggest problem with Facebook is that it is full of people.