Au Revoir Monsieur Bourdain

Anthony Bourdain’s death came as a huge shock.    I have not thought about him for a while because I have not been watching him on TV since “The Layover”.

Such a humorous, irreverant carefree guy, enjoying life, enjoying work, food,  yet who knew he could sink to such depths of despair?

part of me refused to believe it when I first heard .  Maybe it’s a hoax, I thought .  Or, what if he was murdered,  as conspiracy theorists still claim?

It will be disrespectful to speculate the reason.  I have no right to do so.   I watched the entire HOng Kong episode on YouTube .

Not a clue that he was depressed or suicidal.  Still that sense of humour.  And days later …

sigh…

unbelievably sad.

why?

Log in to write a note
June 20, 2018

Proof that we never really know.  We keep things bottled up inside and then.. its out there.  Its sad for his family sad for his friends and the world when a talented person goes but I can understand it. When you feel you have had enough-I almost reached this point 2 days ago but I’m still here I wish he was still here too and all those who have left since and before that day.

July 8, 2018

Thank you for the kind note. I was surprised at his death as well. I think people can hide their depression and suicidal feelings extremely well. Regardless, it is very sad to hear and a tragedy nonetheless.