the fruit of the spirit

Insomnia keeps me up again.   Will I ever be able to regulate my sleep so that I can eat less at night?  Sleepless nights lead to night binging which is seriously bad for my Aging body.

the good book says self discipline is one of the fruits of the spirit .   What does that say about my spirit I wonder .   It’s strange how prayer never works in this regard .    Is that why they call it self-disciple ?    Prayer calls on a higher power but self discipline is worked out by “yourself”.   Silly of me.

Thank God tomorrow is a no-work day.

 

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2018

I used to really struggle with insomnia.  Now I take zanaflex (tizanidine), a muscle relaxer, and trazodone, an anti-depressant, at bedtime, and I almost never have a problem.

Have you ever thought about joining Overeaters Anonymous (OA) (or another 12-step group, but that’s the only one I can think of that seems appropriate)?  Self-control is something that God can give you, not something you have to do alone.

I don’t know.  I just know that AA has helped me not drink for over 1000 days, and I don’t even crave alcohol.  AA tells me that this is my Higher Power working for me, and I’ve come to believe it, and I think that’s been really critical to my recovery.  Any 12-step group would tell you the same.

May 29, 2018

@dolorangelicus

trying hard not to go the pharmacological way, but yeah you’re right .  And say what I like I know there is a higher power too 🙂