hoe my god

 I let the neighbors ruin most of my day. It was my fault, I know, but jesus they can be so…trashy. For lack of a better word.

We live in an apt building that isn’t the nicest.  I’ll admit that. We are in a transitional place in our lives and this is what we can afford. Soon that will change (yay!) but for now it works.  The fact that they have yet to finish some of the painting they promised to do, or fill holes they made working on the unit, or even the fact that we have only had heat for a week (yes, and it’s January),  those things don’t really bother me all that much. I can deal.   I know it is temporary. But our neighbors…they make me crazy.  Aside from the mooching which I think I’ve mentioned there is the fighting.  It got bad today.   

We live in a part of the building that is a block of four apts.  P and H live in the apt below us.  P’s sister R lives next door to them and above her (our neighbor) is nobody.  A nice couple moved out and nobody as moved in since.  It makes me wonder what is wrong with the apartment but I digress.   P and H fight a lot.  Daily almost.  I hear door slamming, wall kicking, screeching, yelling, throwing things. Constantly.  Once a week I consider calling the cops.  Until today I’d only done it once before.  Today was number two.  When I can hear either one of them threatening the other I call. Or when they take it out into the hallway (which is often) and get physical.  

The sad things about this is that they have a baby.  She is about a month younger than Molly and I don’t call CPS because I don’t think they are abusing her. I don’t see her often but every time I do she looks like a normal healthy baby.  I know they are taking her to regular doctors appts because this place is small and we see each other coming and going a lot. Plus, I talk to R quite a bit when she is mooching.   I don’t call CPS because as horrible as a place as that house is for that baby to live,  as awful as I can imagine her life is going to be, and the bad habits she is going to develop over time…there isn’t anything that anyone can do.  They are too overrun with real cases of abuse to worry about a healthy baby that just has ignorant, crazy parents.   But I do call the cops because if the parents are going to be physical with each other that is cause for concern and I know that the authorities (or at least I hope) will take steps if necessary.  

The first time I called the cops some officer showed up, knocked on their door and told them someone had called on them.  He was their friend.  He was literally down there, in the hallway for twelves seconds. Didn’t ask any questions or tell them to knock it off. Just showed up with a friendly "Guys,  someone called us. Just thought you should know!" and they waved him off with a friendly "Thanks Lester!" OR whatever the fuck his name was. 

Today was a bit different. Two officers showed up and seperated them and were here for about a half hour.  After which they left and they promptly started fighting again.  They know it was me who called too because the cops came to my apt. first mistakenly because I had called, they thought my apt was the one with the issue. So…yeah, great.  I’m literally afraid to leave the house today because last time I called she thought it was someone else in the complex and threatened very loudly in the hallway that she was going to "kill that bitch".  Obviously people don’t really mean that stuff a lot of the time they say it, but I don’t feel like a confrontation today. Hence…why half my day was crap. 

Most of the time…it isn’t that bad. M and I actually started turning off the tv when they start fighting so we can listen.  We’ve caught doosies like "Eat a DICK!" and "You’re going to have go back to living on your back!" But when they get really bad I feel like I’m being drawn into their nightmare and I have my own stuff to deal with.  Stuff that doesn’t include being afraid of unstable neighbors.   

Log in to write a note