DEAR HUBBY(more whining and complaining)

I am very frustrated with my hubby. I guess none of you will ever understand because you aren’t living with my hubby. Because he made a lot of money in his business he has money in different accounts, under different companies etc. He says he has to pay a lot in taxes. Is that my fault? You wouldn’t believe how much if I told you. So it’s not easy to get a handle on our finances. I beg him to go to someone who can explain things to me. At least I would get another opinion of how we stand financially. I don’t have all the information so I can’t go alone.
 I haven’t a clue what he’s thinking. He does not TALK. I am so frustrated. 
The party is just another in a long line of disagreements. He doesn’t say anything except he doesn’t want to spend the money. What is he saving it for? Why can’t I accept what he says? Why does he put a damper on everything? He wanted to go on a cruise so we’re going. He wants a balcony which is more expensive so we’re getting one! Any time I suggest something he cries about money. I really don’t know where to turn. I wonder if I should discuss everything with his sister. I once told her that he wasn’t as free with his money as she thought.
At supper I asked him how much he would be comfortable spending for the party. He never said a word!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I just wish I was brave enough to have it out with him once and for all. I did tell him awhile ago that I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life arguing about money. NO RESPONSE.
TELL ME WHAT I SHOULD DO. I NEED SUPPORT! I NEED TO DECIDE ONCE AND FOR ALL WHAT TO DO AND DO IT. Remember the 5000 we got a few months back from my BIL. To me it was found money and we should have done something fun with some of it. We talked about it for awhile and that was it. Am I so wrong to want to have some happy times? To want to spend money we have?
Again this is why I have to charge things and I am in debt! Whenever I talk to him about money he turns green and looks like he is going to faint. I am so tired of it.
If he ever said to me that we could go on any trip I wanted to I would faint. He is definitely NOT a giving man.
We bought a trailer because he wanted one and he was going if I went or not and he does.
We bought the condo in Florida because he wanted it. Of course I benefit too but still it was for him.
We bought this condo. We both wanted it but he should have known better. We can’t afford it. At least he cries all the time. I would be willing to move and sell it. We could probably make money on it. We don’t need such a big place especially if we can’t afford it.
What a selfish man! Maybe he loves me but he doesn’t show it!
So now I will sign off and be miserable. This has been a big part of my life. At times I think we get along very well but…………………
On Saturday he goes golfing. What does he expect me to do all day? The other women go shopping. They might not buy anything much but for me it’s a waste of time. Also there is no way I can go shopping and not buy anything. He also takes his car so I’m more or less stranded unless I go with my friends.
I better stop whining and complaining. I know most of you would tell me to SHIT OR GET OFF THE POT.
LAST BUT NOT least he bought us new IPHONES. I told him awhile ago that I didn’t need one because I don’t really use my phone or care about getting a new one so just get one for him. So he either forgot or decided to get me one anyways. Do I refuse it? It must cost something. My friend once told me I might as well get it etc. because I won’t get the money etc.
So that’s my whole story. Maybe I’ll try to talk to him on the way to the country. We’re closing up this 
weekend so that’s good news.
I can’t believe there are only a few weeks till we leave for Florida. I WILL BE SO HAPPY TO TRAVEL THERE ALONE. I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE SOME PLAYS. I can’t wait to do what I want!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Log in to write a note
September 20, 2012

Does your family come from a poor background? Is he maybe making sure you will have enough to live on for the rest of your lives? I thought the IPad was nice. I sure wish someone would buy one for me. If something were to happen, you could always be found. If you have to wait somewhere, you have hours of pleasure watching videos or reading online books

September 20, 2012

You say you spend a lot on journals and pens. Could you just stop doing that? Could you stop buying so much food for everyone else and just start having potlachs? Could your husband give you your money at the start of every week so that you have less time to go between periods of being broke?

Seriously you own half of what he has unless u signed a prenup?? If you divorse him u get half of EVERYTHING you should have a car of your own money you can spend. he cant cry poor but waste money on things u dont need. time to investigate ur self!

September 20, 2012

I think that the problem started 50 years ago and so it will be close to impossible to do anything about it. :o(

You’re right… none of us know your hubby… so it’s hard to suggest what to do. My opinion is that it is absolutely essential that you two talk this out. Maybe bring it up in front of his sister so she can help you out a bit? I really think it would help if you two agreed on a monthly budget. Sorry, I can imagine this is tough!

September 20, 2012

I think you should insist that he go over the finances with you, you need to be aware of the situation and the money you have together. Make an appoitment with a financial advisor, if he doesn’t go with you go by yourself. The FA can give you insights as to what you need to live on with your retirement money. I have heard real nightmare stories about a husband dying and then leaving his wife withmassive debts she didn’t even know about. Full disclosure is best!

…get a job?

September 20, 2012

He does sound like an ass. I think you should divorce him. Is your name on the things that you own, as well as his? He’d have to pay you alimony since you’ve been married practically forever. You wouldn’t have as “much” in the way of material things as you have now, maybe, but you’d have plenty, and you would also be free of him. But only you can make that decision, and only you can DO it.<br> hugs, Nicky

September 21, 2012

I totally agree with offmychest. You NEED to know your financial affairs. He/you may have a lot of money and he/you may not! You don’t want to wait until he is gone to find out he left you nothing but bills. And any money HE has is yours also and you should make financial decisions together. He sounds like my ex, Sarge. I found out after the divorce that he was cheating me out of $1200 every monthbecause I was supposed to be paying half of our expenses and I was actually paying all of our expenses!

September 21, 2012

Not sure I could help. Just know I will keep you both in prayer. Love,

September 21, 2012

remind him its important for you to understand it all because if you outlive him you will need to handle everything on your own. He should accept that argument. hugs p