DEPRESSED AND UPSET

I was woken up by the phone ringing before nine. It was another bill collector wanting a payment. I didn’t answer so I am not sure who called. Personally I could care less but I know hubby gets very upset by these calls. I have explained to him that putting things on charge cards was the only way I can have some freedom. For example when I was going to buy an outfit this week he wouldn’t give me his Visa or a check. He told me to put it on mine. Of course he would give me back the money but why can’t he just trust me? I feel like a kid!
Then last night we went to a dedication to my very best friend who passed away several years ago. It was held at a geriatric hospital. What upset me was all the people in the hospital who were so "old, vulnerable and sick." Plain worn down and out by age. I also spoke to friends who were also suffering. We are all getting old – in our seventies and early eighties. Of course it is great that we are getting old and are walking on our own two feet. But it still woke me up. I am getting older and who knows the future??? Of course thank goodness there is a future maybe.
At the dedication I knew many people from different "groups." It was hard to talk to everybody and one couple I didn’t get to talk to at all. I must call and make a date for next week. Hubby’s cousin was there so of course we wanted to catch up with their news.
So this morning I am going to do my exercise and paint. Hubby mentioned that he was going to use some of my baskets and I was thrilled he allowed me to straighten out his cupboard. I just hope he likes the results!!!!!!!
I have bought many clear boxes at Canadian Tire as they were on sale this week. My friend took me twice. I think they are much better than the wicker baskets as I can see what’s in each one. I am also putting the same type of container near each other so it looks much better.
I guess I should go do my exercise and then paint before the day runs away like it did yesterday.
Take care my friends.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2011

I have bill collectors calling me all the time too and yes I just ignore them, but then again I do not have a husband anymore to complain.

August 18, 2011

I can sure tell I am getting older. I still try to stay busy. I have worked geriatrics when I was a nurse and always enjoyed it. I still enjoy helping others. The clear boxes are nice for storing things, as you definitely can tell what is in the box. Love,

August 18, 2011

I would love to see your paintings!

August 18, 2011

I, too, would love to see your paintings!

I just found you diary and I hope to read more of it. I’m 58-years-old living alone in Arizona. I’ve only been living alone for three years so I’m still not used to it. But what I was going to say is that although I’m only 58, I feel like I’m in my 70s. I have some health issues that get in my way, but that shouldn’t make me feel older than I am. I find you diary inspiring.