MY DEAR SON-read

How can I explain what a disappointment it was to your father and I when you chose to marry a girl who was not Jewish. We did not badger you or anything. We went along but all the time our hearts were breaking! Marriage is hard enough but when you come from such different backgrounds it is even harder. Last night we had company for supper and they told us how they got after their son who was dating a girl who was Greek.

Anyhow it’s a done deal and we will live with it. I hope you are happy. Did you celebrate Christmas today??? I am so happy that I am in Florida so I can’t be a witness to your participation in the holiday. I wish you well and hope you will both be happy.

And, my dear son, how will you raise your children? Will they be half and half?

I guess it’s your life and I set you free to live it as you choose and to live with the consequences whatever they may be.

I love you with all my heart and soul and always will no matter what you do.

Log in to write a note