PASSOVER CHECKLIST

I THOUGHT I WOULD MAKE A LIST OF ALL THAT I DO/HAVE TO DO FOR THE PASSOVER HOLIDAY! IN NO SPECIAL ORDER BUT AS I REMEMBER SOMETHING…………..

get rid of bread and all bread products
take out all special dishes including pots and pans for the holiday – try to find place for everything- I use to empty cupboards but no more even though hubby is not happy with everything all over
Last night he told me that he was upset that I had so much stuff(not Passover) all over. I’m sad about this because I do have TONS OF STUFF and I am truly sorry that it bothers him but…………………
buy food for the holiday – special food not made with or near flour
make salt water to dip vegies in
cut celery into strips enough for everyone at the table
cut horseradish into strips
make potatoes and hard boiled eggs for everyone
set the table with all special stuff
hubby buys wine
make chicken soup
make chopped liver
make meat balls
make knaidles
make lamb brisket(this is a first)
make standing rib
make potato kugel
make red velvet cake
This morning I took out all the food that was frozen. I’ll need it to defrost for tomorrow night.
Go through all the Passover boxes from the many years. This year I am putting a lot of stuff back downstairs with a note not to bring it up next year. Hubby wants to stay in Florida next year. Maybe……………………
Wonderful to walk in the hall and smell the wonderful food being prepared.
My daughter and her boyfriend will be arriving this evening. YEAH!!!!!!!!! She’ll help. Usually I have my cleaning lady but this year she is going to Toronto to see her sister who has breast cancer. OY!!!!!!! It’s lucky I don’t really need her this year. With only five Friday night and 10 the second night it will be easy………
I guess that’s enough. Most steps are easy to list but takes lots of time………
HAPPY EASTER TO ALL WHO CELEBRATE EASTER. It would be interesting to know what you do for the holiday.
HAPPY PASSOVER TO ALL WHO CELEBRATE PASSOVER.
BE WELL EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ENJOY WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS OR QUIETLY ALONE. Many people have chosen to celebrate one night. Many to cut down on guests. Many to not even have any celebration. Many to not change dishes etc. It’s a very difficult holiday and I don’t know how I use to do it. Of course I was much younger. I didn’t go to Florida so had more time to prepare.
So time to return to work!


Log in to write a note
April 5, 2012

I don’t do much for Easter anymore…my kids go see their father and eat ham there so I don’t have to cook anymore, happy about that. Usually I just chill out and relax! I am not religious so I don’t go to church or anything like that.

Have a great weekend! You put so much effort into these events, I’m impressed! You write quite often about having too much stuff. I wonder if you started reading some blogs about living minimally, you’d be able to start changing your mindset (if you want to).

Have you ever watched ‘The Story of Stuff’? Very motivating! It really changed my view of my stuff. http://www.storyofstuff.org/movies-all/story-of-stuff/

April 5, 2012

You know, I have to wonder why you go to all the time and trouble of koshering the house, buying the kosher-for-passover food etc when you’re not religious. I can understand making the traditional dishes etc. but isn’t it an awful lot of hassle for a religion you don’t actually practice? (but then I never understood why my uncle insisted on having fish for dinner on Good Friday when the only timehe ever went NEAR a church was to have his kids baptised – and I never understood why he bothered with that either. Why bother with religious practices when you don’t believe in the religion?) I DO follow religious practices… but that’s because I believe in them personally, not just because it’s what you do.

April 5, 2012

We’re having a Passover Sedar at church tonight and re-enacting the Last Supper. I’m looking forward to it… it’ll be the first time in my life that I’ve ever tasted matzoh. 😛 Then we have church tomorrow for Good Friday and a Dawn Service on Sunday. And of course an Easter Egg hunt for the kiddies… (hugs)

April 5, 2012

I know you will enjoy the get together for passover and easter, especially with your daughter there. hugs p

April 5, 2012

Happy Easter and best wishes, A

April 5, 2012

We don’t really do much of anything. I’m not religious but for some odd reason, we still do the big meal for Easter. That’s ok though, I enjoy cooking large holiday meals.