UPSET

 

 

 Last night I spoke to a very close and old friend. She lives in Ottawa which is about two hours away. She is and always has been a very sensitive woman. Anyhow four months ago her hubby was taken unto the hospital. He is a very sick man and may need his leg or foot amputated. She has been running to the hospital everyday for four months. She does not have any family in Ottawa. Her two daughters live in Europe. Anyhow hubby and I visited twice and I think I would have gone more if I was driving. I was calling at least once a week. Last time I called she was on the phone with her daughter from Russia. I told her I would call her back but forgot. Yesterday I called while driving home. Again she must have been talking to someone else because she couldn’t talk then. I was planning to call her back but it took us two hours to get home. Usually it’s a one hour trip. I was hungry and tired and had to unpack. It was around eight. We brought home alot of stuff from our trailer because we are closing up next weekend. So to make a long story short I didn’t call her back. She called me!

She got very upset with me because I hadn’t told her that one son was getting married and the other had a girlfriend. WELL!!!!!!!!! Also what upset her most was that I was NOT excited!!!!!!!!!!! She gave me an argument for not appreciating my life!!!!!!! I explained to her that I was thrilled with my life and my new condo etc. I just wasn’t overjoyed because of my children’s lives. I have my own and don’t depend on them for my happiness. She has always been jealous of my life. I don’t have her problems but I do have my own. As far as I know she has had a good life. They may not have had as much money as us but they travelled etc. Her hubby and her have always been close. They have always had a lot of fun together.  Anyways she really upset me. Last time I talked to her, I mentioned that we wanted to visit. She said to wait. I guess other people were coming. I am not sure when we will go. The wedding is coming up. The Jewish holidays are coming up. I mentioned that she could come here for a day or two over the holidays. OK! Maybe I was insensitive. You would think I suggested death. It’s only two hours away. I know many women who leave their very sick hubbies and go away for a few days, a week or more. She said I would never do it. I don’t know!!!!!!!!! I think I would to save my sanity. She asked how she would get here. A couple of weeks ago I took a bus home from her place!!!!!!!!
She was probably having a bad day. I know it is not easy. I would like to support her more but what can I do. We live in different cities. I called often. No more excuses.
I will speak to hubby and we will go to see her and her hubby. I must ask a friend if they are interested in going.
So that was the way I went so sleep. Upset and tired and very frustrated.
Maybe I’ll call her in the morning and "makeup." I am sure we were both too tired from our day.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 12, 2011

If you are worrying about losing your husband, tired from running back and forth from the hospital, missing having the rest of your family around you, I guess she should be excused for over reacting to things.