9/11/07

So it’s September 11th? Yeah, okay, I get it. I have been hearing mention of it every day for the past 6 years just like the rest of you. Sure it was a terrible thing, but I’m frankly tired of hearing it mentioned in so many presidential speeches, and when candidates need to show their loyalty to the US and help their candidacy.

Sometimes I feel like, when the president brings it up, he’s really just saying "Are you still afraid? You’re still afriad, right? I mean, remember? That was pretty scary, huh? Remember why you’re supposed to be scared? Huh? Come on, be afraid! PLEASE."  Because when I’m afraid I need to hear xenophobic words of comfort, right?

Yes, I suppose it did affect history (or the timing, at least) but I don’t see why everyone has to get so emotionally wrapped up in it… so personally wrapped up. This collective consciousness kindof scares me, because emotional reactions are usually not rational.

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 11, 2007

duh, that’s how he won the popular vote. and you know how those religious freaks fall for a nice fear charade.

Totally… it was a crisis back when it happened, and some time afterward it was still a big deal and extremely unfortunate and sad for everyone involved… but now its over. Its written in the history books and thats as far as it should go, IMO.

September 11, 2007

totally agree

September 11, 2007

I think some people are emotional about it because it was just an absolutely terrifying thing. I was barely 14 when it happened. Others are emotional because their spouse or some other family member is fighting the war it brought on (hence why I feel I should be more emotional about today), and while I’m sick of hearing about it…it is something to be remembered. Kind of like Pearl Harbor.