Ms. Peace Clown, esq.

It’s 909 a.m. and I am awake! And clean. The clean part is important because sometimes it’s a real hassle to take a shower… though it beats feeling greasy. Oh, I also had an interview today at a local coffee shop. I think it went relatively well, though it depends on what they are looking for. I am a good worker and had good responses, but the coffee shop is pretty stylish. Oh, and it is staffed exclusively by stylish 17-year olds. I can look nice, though I definitely prefer comfort (or being able to wear whatever the hell I want) over name brand clothes and accessorizing.

Case in point:

(that’s the product of meeting a man called the "peace clown", touring a fudge factory, and going insane from spending 2 weeks in a mini-van with 6 smelly college kids, touring the south learning about the Civil Rights Mvt). Yikes, I’m much yellower in that picture than in my profile picture (which is much, much more recent)… that’s what Indiana does to ya I guess.

Anyway, so we’ll see if I got the job or not (p.s. I pretty much hate coffee, no matter how many extra ingredients they try to throw in).

Other news? Umm.. I spent a long time yesterday writing people about potential places to live. It’s all pretty complicated and lame so I don’t really want to talk about it… except to say that I want something to work out. I was just accepted into the program on Friday though, so maybe I’m rushing it? As far as I’m concerned, it’s always smart to have a plan when one is moving more than 300 miles away to a place full of, gulp, strangers.

I feel bad for the boyfriend… he has really been hating his job lately. He’s really starting to look for grad schools again though, and has been studying to retake the GRE (so I’m proud of him for that!). He decided he wants to go into international relations, which is pretty awesome. I’d like to get a Master’s degree at some point… probably in some useless Philosophy program. I love Philosophy, but it is bad enough having a Bachelor’s in it… people just look confused when I tell them. I had someone once compare Philosophy to Psychiatry…THEYARECOMPLETELYDIFFERENTJUSTSOYOUKNOW.

There is a Yahoo group for the people accepted into the same Americorps program as me. So far it looks like they are all girls, which is okay as long as they are cool. We’ll see!

Anyway, I guess I have a long day of sitting/staring at the computer/staring at other things ahead of me. Time to get started!

 

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2007

moving is such a nightmare, and there is no easy answer ever. Good luck

September 10, 2007

Haha, I love that picture! Well, I wish best of luck to you for the move. I’d seriously call back Americancorps about paying with moving expenses. They should be able to provide some aid. But it sounds like you are aiming towards the right direction on who to talk to about getting a place.

September 10, 2007

I have the same problem with my degree too. People always asked me what the hell I’m going to do with it and why. Then I tell them I’m taking business classes so I can take art in that route, which I still get snubbed at. Just can’t win with those narrow minded people.